Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
Read the current newsletter! Weekly
Newsletter
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - TTN5 GPS Driver - What have they done to it???
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

TTN5 GPS Driver - What have they done to it???
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> TomTom Software-Only Products
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
longwori
Regular Visitor


Joined: 15/04/2003 12:14:36
Posts: 151
Location: Cheshire, UK

PostPosted: Sun Jun 12, 2005 7:14 pm    Post subject: TTN5 GPS Driver - What have they done to it??? Reply with quote

I am using a Globalsat BC-307 CF GPS and have managed to get it to talk to TTN5 using the Other Wired GPS option, 4800 Baud and choosing the CF option. This seems to be the only option that talks to my GPS.

But its crap!!!!!!!!

It was fine in TTN3 but now I have to wait an absolute age to get a fix whilst stationary. It will no longer get a fix whilst driving, even after driving for about 45 mins (but it did with TTN3 after about 5 mins). If it looses a fix you are stuffed.

I like the look of the TTN5 application but this GPS driver is unusable.

Any ideas anyone? I will email TomTom too.
_________________
TomTom Go 520, HTC Wildfire with CoPilot Live Premium UK & CoPilot Live Standard USA
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lbendlin
Pocket GPS Staff
Pocket GPS Staff


Joined: 02/11/2002 22:41:59
Posts: 11878
Location: Massachusetts, USA

PostPosted: Mon Jun 13, 2005 7:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This seems to become a recurring theme - TTN4 and 5 don't really support CF receivers. They are only targeting serial and BT receivers, and you have trouble to connect to CF, SD, Jacket, or integrated receivers.

TomTom's goal was to cut down on support effort. Not sure they will achieve that...
_________________
Lutz

Report Map Errors here:
TomTom/TeleAtlas NAVTEQ
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Wilko
Regular Visitor


Joined: Nov 17, 2003
Posts: 203

PostPosted: Mon Jun 13, 2005 8:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

TT5 is working fine with my SysonChip CF Plus 2 with quick fixes.

I've not installed the gps.cab file though, along with the PIM contacts .cab file.

What exactly does the gps.cab file do/install on TT5? It only seems to contain bluetooth settings
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SHC
Regular Visitor


Joined: Mar 10, 2004
Posts: 128
Location: Hull

PostPosted: Mon Jun 13, 2005 8:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well TTN5 does not support my Bluetooth receiver. I've been through these forums and followed all the good advice to no avail. I've just told tomtom I want my money back. I've just bought 6 shiny frisbees because thats all they are good for.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lbendlin
Pocket GPS Staff
Pocket GPS Staff


Joined: 02/11/2002 22:41:59
Posts: 11878
Location: Massachusetts, USA

PostPosted: Mon Jun 13, 2005 10:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The connection actually works fine initially. But when you switch off the PocketPC while TTN5 is running ( for a petrol station break etc ) This is where it gets messy - when you switch the Pocket PC on again it can take very long before it finds the receiver again. Definitely much worse than in TTN3

The GPS.CAB is supposed to improve the BT support but I can't see a difference with or without it installed.
_________________
Lutz

Report Map Errors here:
TomTom/TeleAtlas NAVTEQ
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
SHC
Regular Visitor


Joined: Mar 10, 2004
Posts: 128
Location: Hull

PostPosted: Mon Jun 13, 2005 10:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Lutz,
I've followed your advice through these forums for many months, I'ts always good advice I find. Now, do you have any ideas how to get my ipaq 4700 and rikaline bluetooth receiver to work?
I've followed the forums here but nothing works.
On the GPS set up screen (Other wired GPS) I have the following entries:
Infrared, infrared, COM4: Serial Cable on COM 1: Serial on USB and Bluetooth Serial Port COM 5.
In Bluetooth Serial Port Settings on the ipaq I have inbound COM Port 5 and Outbound COM port 8.
What can I do?
Any help appreciated!

Thanks

SHC
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lbendlin
Pocket GPS Staff
Pocket GPS Staff


Joined: 02/11/2002 22:41:59
Posts: 11878
Location: Massachusetts, USA

PostPosted: Mon Jun 13, 2005 11:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

@SHC: Sounds like you have the wrong TomTom GPS driver installed. Can you try to remove all "TomTom ~ GPS" programs, do a soft reset, and then install TomTom GPS 2.06 ?

(This is assuming that you use TomTom 3, not TomTom 5)
_________________
Lutz

Report Map Errors here:
TomTom/TeleAtlas NAVTEQ
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
SHC
Regular Visitor


Joined: Mar 10, 2004
Posts: 128
Location: Hull

PostPosted: Tue Jun 14, 2005 7:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm trying to use TomTom 5, I've just upgraded!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JST
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jun 04, 2005
Posts: 36

PostPosted: Tue Jun 14, 2005 9:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Lutz,

Thanks for your observation, I was beginning to think it was just me (or my combination of iPAQ 3870 and BT-338) or I was going nuts!

I have found TTN5 much more stable if I always fully exit the app before switching off my iPAQ.

Leave TTN5 running, when I switch off, and all sorts of problems appear, including the problem I have posted before where TTN5 hangs after 20mins or so. Sometimes the only way to clear it is a combination of Soft Resets AND Power Offs. Am I right in thinking that a Soft Reset doesn't (necessarily) Reset the Hardware, i.e. clear down the on-board Bluetooth chip, as is sometimes the case with PCs?

Cheers, Jim
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
tomthompson
Frequent Visitor


Joined: 26/08/2003 15:43:37
Posts: 386
Location: Southampton, UK

PostPosted: Tue Jun 14, 2005 10:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

SCH the way that I managed it and its worth a try is to select other wired gps and then baud rate and then in your case and mine bluetooth on com5 for the port save it and then try again you should then go to gps status and check out if connection is there . every time I put tt5 back on it says no gps and then after about a minute yippee its there
_________________
Asus Zenfone 2 twin sim, Garmin Zumo 550, 660 and pocketgps speed camera database

I keep on learning but they invent new things faster ,How do I keep up ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
alix776
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: 03/05/2003 14:45:49
Posts: 3999
Location: leyland lancs ENGLAND

PostPosted: Tue Jun 14, 2005 10:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

shc if you look to the left when selecting the com port you will see a grey down button tap this and it should move the list down a little and give you another bt com port option
_________________
currently using aponia truck navigation on windows phone. Good bye IOS don't let the door hit you on the way out .

Oh the joys of being a courier.
device Lumia 950 xl
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
SHC
Regular Visitor


Joined: Mar 10, 2004
Posts: 128
Location: Hull

PostPosted: Tue Jun 14, 2005 11:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

alix776 wrote:
shc if you look to the left when selecting the com port you will see a grey down button tap this and it should move the list down a little and give you another bt com port option


alix776 - on what screen? I have the 4 screens to choose which type of gps device, none of them give me a grey down button that i can see. All I get is as described above in my earlier post. I have Bluetooth COM 5 but I cant change it
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lbendlin
Pocket GPS Staff
Pocket GPS Staff


Joined: 02/11/2002 22:41:59
Posts: 11878
Location: Massachusetts, USA

PostPosted: Tue Jun 14, 2005 12:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

after you select the "other"device you should see a list of ports. on the RIGHT (not left) are up and down arrows (triangles) which you can use to scroll the list. If you don't have them then your machine is seriously screwed - I would still assume by remnants of a 3.x GPS driver.
_________________
Lutz

Report Map Errors here:
TomTom/TeleAtlas NAVTEQ
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
ROBBINS
Regular Visitor


Joined: Dec 04, 2003
Posts: 82
Location: Worcestershire

PostPosted: Tue Jun 14, 2005 1:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am using a 2210 with Holux gr230 BT - The only way that I can get it to work, is to leave the BT on for about 5 mins to get a good sat fix, then turn on the 2210. It seems to work every time using this metthod. If I turn them both on together, I am unable to get TT5 working.

Could someone tell me where to get GPSgate

Robbins
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lbendlin
Pocket GPS Staff
Pocket GPS Staff


Joined: 02/11/2002 22:41:59
Posts: 11878
Location: Massachusetts, USA

PostPosted: Tue Jun 14, 2005 1:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

www.franson.biz
_________________
Lutz

Report Map Errors here:
TomTom/TeleAtlas NAVTEQ
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> TomTom Software-Only Products All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
Page 1 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Powered by phpBB 2.0.11 © 2001 phpBB Group
phpBB port v2.1 based on Tom Nitzschner's phpbb2.0.6 upgraded to phpBB 2.0.4 standalone was developed and tested by:
ArtificialIntel, ChatServ, mikem,
sixonetonoffun and Paul Laudanski (aka Zhen-Xjell).

Version 2.1 by Nuke Cops 2003 http://www.nukecops.com

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
20-071 (06 Jul 22)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping