Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - Rikaline X7 with Ipaq 5450 WM2003 TT 2 and TTGPS 2.08
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

Rikaline X7 with Ipaq 5450 WM2003 TT 2 and TTGPS 2.08

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> GPS Receivers
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
fks123
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Dec 20, 2003
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Sat Dec 20, 2003 6:09 pm    Post subject: Rikaline X7 with Ipaq 5450 WM2003 TT 2 and TTGPS 2.08 Reply with quote

hi there everyone,

my Rikaline X7 doesnt seems to work on with my Ipaq 5450...the SPP Slave can connect but somehow the GPS data doesnt comes throuhg as theres no clock runnig in the GPS screen and no dots moving...

and if i am lucky and it moves...it will only last for few seconds and it stalls and never moves again...

can anyone please help me out here ??

regards
sam
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dave
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Sep 10, 2003
Posts: 6460
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sat Dec 20, 2003 7:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Try switching to the NMEA 0183v2 4800 driver and see if this makes any difference.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
fks123
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Dec 20, 2003
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Sat Dec 20, 2003 7:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hi there Dave..

i have tried NMEA 4800 , 38400, and Bluetooth Driver. still no good..
it can sometimes work if i put it on Tomtom Wireless GPS...

when i use the winfast navigator it will says error opening com 8..
and theres an error that says counldnt find value whenever i tap port settings...

why is that so ??

thanks
sam
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dave
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Sep 10, 2003
Posts: 6460
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sat Dec 20, 2003 8:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I suspect it's a similar problem that many Bluetooth GPS manufacturers have experienced and that's the switching of protocols and baud rates at the same time unlinks the COM port inside the GPS from the Bluetooth. Although usually you can connect to the COM port, but you just receive no data.

I have an email open with Rikaline at the moment.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
hijacker
Regular Visitor


Joined: Dec 20, 2003
Posts: 188

PostPosted: Sat Dec 20, 2003 9:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The best driver I found for this device was NMEA 155200, however......

Using an Ipaq2210, the X7 repeatedly locked up. From a soft reset and just loading GPS2.08 I could keep a connection sometimes for upto 20minutes.

Soon as I loaded TT2, GPS 2.08 would hang within seconds.

I've tried installing TT2 to ROM and a CF but it doesn't make any difference. Also have BT update installed from HP.

Totally disappointed.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fks123
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Dec 20, 2003
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Sun Dec 21, 2003 2:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

well...mine doesnt work if i put it on NMEA 4800, 38400 or 115200..
no dots moving and no clock at all...

but when i put it on Tomtom Wireless GPS..
at least there are dots moving for 2 seconds and clock counting...
but then immediately stalls after few seconds...

any one have any idea ???

i think my Rikaline is the newer version(thats what i was told)
i used to have a unit that has yellow LEDS but was replaced by a unit which i am now using . it has Blue LEDS...

thanks
sam
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Phreakster
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Sep 16, 2003
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Mon Dec 22, 2003 7:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Install Tom Tom 2 GPS 2.08 and then select Rikaline 6010 and have Com 8 selected. Works fine for me ;)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fks123
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Dec 20, 2003
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Tue Dec 23, 2003 1:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hi there...

i had tried the Rikaline 6010 on bluetooth com 8...
it connected for 2 seconds and the 'dots' stalled and clock will not move anymore....

any idea whats wrong ??
my connection is always not stable.....it tends to hang in very short time...

regards
sam
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dave
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Sep 10, 2003
Posts: 6460
Location: UK

PostPosted: Tue Dec 23, 2003 2:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It sounds like you probably have the 6012.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
fks123
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Dec 20, 2003
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Tue Dec 23, 2003 9:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hi there Dave..

but my receiver is the Rikaline 6031 X7 bluetooth receiver...

i had tried many times connecting with Rikaline 6010 drive at Bluetooth Com 8....
i had succeded once without it stalling...and got satelite and my postition track while sitting in my room upstairs...once i run from my room ..downstairs and out of the house...the 'dots' stops moving and the clock stalls...

i have also got a reply that says that his Rikaline X7 works fine on ipaq 3970 with WM 2002...

anyone can solve the problem of my X7 keep stalling ??
is it the receiver's problem or the Tomtom software problem ??

regards
sam
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dave
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Sep 10, 2003
Posts: 6460
Location: UK

PostPosted: Tue Dec 23, 2003 10:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Dang, I replied to the wrong thread.

There are some issues currently with X7's. Connecting using the Emtac Wireless driver should get you up and running AFAIK, but Rikaline have confirmed they do have problems with the X7's where suddenly data stops flowing (keeps stalling). Rikaline are currently working on a fix for this (hopefully it will just be a firmware update, but might be more serious). Interestingly enough Rikaline have also been having problems with their 6012's, it does seem that QA isn't one of Rikaline's best features.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Phreakster
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Sep 16, 2003
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Fri Dec 26, 2003 1:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

An easy thing to test whether its the software or hardware is to get another piece of gps software such as GPS Tuner and see how the reciever behaves with that.

If you get the same results then you could have a duff rikaline reciever. But it seems to work great with my 3970.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> GPS Receivers All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Powered by phpBB 2.0.11 © 2001 phpBB Group
phpBB port v2.1 based on Tom Nitzschner's phpbb2.0.6 upgraded to phpBB 2.0.4 standalone was developed and tested by:
ArtificialIntel, ChatServ, mikem,
sixonetonoffun and Paul Laudanski (aka Zhen-Xjell).

Version 2.1 by Nuke Cops 2003 http://www.nukecops.com

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
20.114 (23 Nov 22)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping