Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - 2210 sourced from USA
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

2210 sourced from USA

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Beginners GPS Lounge
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
hotspur
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jun 01, 2005
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Mon Jun 06, 2005 7:12 pm    Post subject: 2210 sourced from USA Reply with quote

Hi
I have an option of buying an Ipaq 2210 from a UK seller which carries a one year warranty but it was sourced from the USA. I was wondering whether the BT connection would be compatable with the UK frequencies I am a complete beginner regards PDAs. I intend to eventually add a GPS and the 2210 appears to have very good connection capabilities.
I would be most grateful for a reply
Regards
John
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lbendlin
Pocket GPS Staff
Pocket GPS Staff


Joined: 02/11/2002 22:41:59
Posts: 11878
Location: Massachusetts, USA

PostPosted: Mon Jun 06, 2005 8:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

John,

BT works the same all over the world.
_________________
Lutz

Report Map Errors here:
TomTom/TeleAtlas NAVTEQ
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
h5djr
Lifetime Member


Joined: Feb 25, 2005
Posts: 228
Location: St Neots Cambs UK

PostPosted: Tue Jun 07, 2005 8:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

John

I recently purchased a 2210 via eBay direct from the US and everything went extremely smoothly. The dealer I used was 'hotpot_auctions' and the 2210 arrived in 3 days.

There is another dealer who sells 2210s on eBay called 'techimprts' and it seems from the feedback that they can take much longer (14-18 days) to arrive.

I also decided to upgraded to a hx4700 and purchased one from hp_marketplace_uk - basically hp themselves with re-manufactured units and much less than the full price. It also arrived in 3 days.

Nearly all of the iPAQs on eBay are re-manufactered units and come with a one year warranty. They are all good value.

Dave R
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Talkingbollox
Frequent Visitor


Joined: 14/10/2002 15:11:34
Posts: 439
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Tue Jun 07, 2005 9:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Dave R

May I ask what your experience has been in tems of having to pay duty and VAT please?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hotspur
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jun 01, 2005
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Wed Jun 08, 2005 4:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi
Many thanks for the reassuring replies.
I will require more memory for the 2210 when it arrives, do you suggest SD or CF and what is the maximum I can install
Again many thanks
John
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
h5djr
Lifetime Member


Joined: Feb 25, 2005
Posts: 228
Location: St Neots Cambs UK

PostPosted: Thu Jun 09, 2005 8:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Talkingbollox

A couple of weeks after I received the 2210 I received an invoice from DHL (the courier) for 12.28 (no import duty but 11.03 vat + 1.25 admin fee). That was back in March and I've not paid it yet and no one seems to be chasing !

I also added extra memory to my 2210. I bought a Kingston 1Gb CF card and a Kingston 512 Mb SD card from Dabs.com. Both were the best prices I could find on the internet and both work fine. I have both Destinator PN and Memory Map and have maps loaded on both cards and both seem to work fine with their respective programs.

Dave R
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hotspur
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jun 01, 2005
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Thu Jun 09, 2005 4:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Dave
thanks for the info. I have just received the Ipaq and it appears to be a neat unit. I am however disappointed that there is no serial port I was led to believe that the 2210 had one. Does your unit have a serial port?
Regards
John
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
h5djr
Lifetime Member


Joined: Feb 25, 2005
Posts: 228
Location: St Neots Cambs UK

PostPosted: Thu Jun 09, 2005 5:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No just the standard iPAQ connector. Mine was connected to my main PC using a USB cable from the cradle. Works fine.

Dave R
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lbendlin
Pocket GPS Staff
Pocket GPS Staff


Joined: 02/11/2002 22:41:59
Posts: 11878
Location: Massachusetts, USA

PostPosted: Thu Jun 09, 2005 6:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The 2210 HAS a serial port, together with a USB port. You may just not have a serial cable. Here's a site that seems to have them

http://www.compegps.com/new/products.php?var=1&tipoweb=1&todos=1&prod=50
_________________
Lutz

Report Map Errors here:
TomTom/TeleAtlas NAVTEQ
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
hotspur
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jun 01, 2005
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Thu Jun 09, 2005 7:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks again!
My mistake; with your help I now realise that my GPS will not just plug in I will need a cable. But for not much more money I can buy a GPS receiver, I think that is my best option. Should I go for a CF, BT or mouse option :P
Regards
John
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
h5djr
Lifetime Member


Joined: Feb 25, 2005
Posts: 228
Location: St Neots Cambs UK

PostPosted: Fri Jun 10, 2005 8:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well I've learn something new. My 2210 does have a serial port. Not that I'm ever likely to use it.

I have a Globalsat 318 Bluetooth GPS receiver and its works very well with the 2210. I have the 2210 mounted in a Brodit cradle and the 318 mounted in the boot of my A3 powered by the 12v socket in the boot. No problems at all with the 318 picking up a signal from inside the boot and the bluetooth works fine.

The advantage with bluetooth is of course flexibility. You can mount the GPS receiver where you like and even use it out of the car if you wish.

Dave R
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Beginners GPS Lounge All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
21.094 (27 Sep 23)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping