Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - BT 16 Channel - 20 hour
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

BT 16 Channel - 20 hour
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> News And Latest Information
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
moonshine
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jul 21, 2004
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Wed Jul 06, 2005 2:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

can you try setting the GPS to NMEA 0183v2 or 3 bluetooth?

Gerry
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Goku
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jul 05, 2005
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Wed Jul 06, 2005 3:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Where you mean? within the TT5?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
moonshine
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jul 21, 2004
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Wed Jul 06, 2005 3:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hmmm - not sure - i'm running TT3 at present, but you should be able to choose the appropriate GPS input device from within the GPS screen which lets you tick and untick the active GPS device and use a drop down list to select another input device(assuming tt5 is similar to tt3),
gerry
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Goku
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jul 05, 2005
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Wed Jul 06, 2005 3:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

IT seems like TT3 is not similar to TT5, or maybe I am doing something wrong, because I can't see any drop down lists. If you refer to TT, I have only 4 choices TT's own GPS devices or BT GPS and wired GPS. Of course I went to the BT GPS.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
moonshine
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jul 21, 2004
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Wed Jul 06, 2005 3:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

sorry, but can't be of much help them

gerry Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Goku
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jul 05, 2005
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Wed Jul 06, 2005 3:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks anyway, hopefully someone else would be able to throw some light on this issue. Many thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BernieK
Occasional Visitor


Joined: May 16, 2005
Posts: 47
Location: Norfolk, England

PostPosted: Wed Jul 06, 2005 6:01 pm    Post subject: BT-77 Reply with quote

Hi,

I use TT3 on my Ipaq 6430 with a BT-77.

My TT3 installation uses TomTom GPS 3.07 to connect to its GPS unit - the setting I have successfully working are:

NMEA 0183v2 Bluetooth

Bluetooth Seial Port COM7:

...and then I have GPS Gate piggy-backed onto TTGPS to supply data to other programmes via a virtual serial port.

Good Luck!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Goku
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jul 05, 2005
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Thu Jul 07, 2005 12:34 am    Post subject: still NO GPS DEVICE Reply with quote

Hi everyone,

I have been reading every post, and done everything others are talking about and still no joy. Could someone please help me.
I seem to ba able to pair the BT-77 with my XDA2 or my iPAQ- no problem so far. The BT-77 red light is continously on and the blue is flashing every 3 seconds. No matter what I do in TT5, it still says NO GPS DEVICE. could you please tell me what is it that I am doing wrong. Crying or Very sad
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Goku
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jul 05, 2005
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Thu Jul 07, 2005 12:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry, where do you see NMEA 0183v2 Bluetooth ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BernieK
Occasional Visitor


Joined: May 16, 2005
Posts: 47
Location: Norfolk, England

PostPosted: Thu Jul 07, 2005 10:25 am    Post subject: Where is NMEA.... Reply with quote

...it is one of the options within TomTom GPS 3.07 when you set it up for your particular GPS unit.

When you run TTGPS, you should see 3 tabs at the bottom, Status, GPS and Log. Select GPS.

The NMEA bit is one of the first dropdown menu items, the Bluetooth Serial Port is the second.

Once they are working, "tick" the box to the LH side to lock your selection.

One thing, with the BT-77, the red LED should flash when it has locked onto a good signal. A solid red LED means it has yet to lock on to the satellites.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Goku
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jul 05, 2005
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Thu Jul 07, 2005 9:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't know about TT3 but it seems like the TT5 has a totally different look, because there are no tabs. Once you select the GPS icon, you have 4 different screen to choose from, one is called TomTom Wireless GPS then TomTom cable GPS, then Other Bluetooth GPS and finally Other Cable NMEA GPS and that's all, so you select one of these screens.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
iancjc
Frequent Visitor


Joined: 10/02/2003 14:19:44
Posts: 749
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Sun Jul 10, 2005 4:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Looks like you havgen't had much help

I run ttn5 with a bt 77 - no problems


Firstly no drivers on the ppc are required.

If the gps is paired with the ppc it will show in bt manager and offer the spp slave service.

In TTN 5 go to chnage preferences, then on page 4 of 6 select "show gps status"

then hit the configure button bottom left.

select: other cable NMEA GPS
select: GPS Baud rate 115200 (this can be virtually anything but 4800 & 115200 work ok for me)
select bluetooth serial port (there should be 2 - you want the incoming one) - try one then the other................on a dell x50 it is bt com 7 on an ipaq 2210 it is bt com 8.

On the gps status screen it will show no gps device - not to worry take the gps outside and wait for it to get a fix - when the right hand light flashes this shows a sat lock - approx 3-10 seconds later ttn 5 will show the sats. (if this isn't the case try the other bt com port)

TTN5 always reports on gps device even if there is a device and it hasn't got a lock - bloody stupid.

HTH

Ian
_________________
-----------------------------------------------------------
TyTn II (WM6.1) / tomtom one v2
TTN6.03 tomtom 7.xx (one)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Goku
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jul 05, 2005
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Mon Jul 11, 2005 1:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you very much for your help. Yesterday, I downloaded a trial version of a small and simple GPS programme and after pairing the BT-77 with my XDA2, this programme showed GPS status and my location etc.. I then opened the TT5 and it worked fine. At first the signal droped but it came back again and used it all day yesterday. What exactly happened, I don't know. If this fails at anytime then I will try your method, because it seems to be the solution for my problem. Once again, many thanks for your help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Goku
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jul 05, 2005
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Mon Jul 11, 2005 1:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you very much for your help. Yesterday, I downloaded a trial version of a small and simple GPS programme and after pairing the BT-77 with my XDA2, this programme showed GPS status and my location etc.. I then opened the TT5 and it worked fine. At first the signal droped but it came back again and used it all day yesterday. What exactly happened, I don't know. If this fails at anytime then I will try your method, because it seems to be the solution for my problem. Once again, many thanks for your help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pocketmar
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Oct 01, 2005
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sat Oct 01, 2005 1:18 pm    Post subject: Re: Pocket Streets Problem. Reply with quote

hi,
Can you pls. tell how to setup BT77 GPS with MDA Compact(imate JAM). On bluetooth settings page, I have TICKED all options (Auth (passkey) required, Inbound COM4, Outbound COM5. When I click BlueTooth ActiveSync Start button , I a prompt "Please start bonding with another bluetooth device...." I hit ok and I get another page on which again I tick both options: "Turn on Bluetooth" and "Make this device discoverable.."
On devices page, I hit New... and I can find "BT GPS" and I enter 0000 and it enlists it as a device below "New...".
But the blue light with the bluetooth sign keeps flashing. Should it go stable?. Also when I run TomTom5, I get a status of No GPS device. Pls help me here as I am getting fed up of this.

Thanks
pocketmar.

netsmithuk wrote:
Hi there,

I have one of these BT77 bluetooth adaptors and it worked first time with TomTom running on my Imate Jam (windows mobile 2003) No complaints at all.

My problem is that MS Pocket Streets just refuses to see it at all. I read in some places that it might be TomTom so de installed that but still no difference. With windows Mobile 2003, the only blue setting I can see is one which allows to you set the bluetooth up as a serial port (hard coded to Com4 inbound and Com5 Outbound) I turn both of these on but when I go to pocket streets to activate the GPS, it says it can the port but no GPS data. (I've read about setting baud rates etc - buy my pocketPC does not not seem to have these options. The only option in BlueTooth settinns is turning on the Serial Port settings for Inbound and Outbound both of which I've done.

The other pocket pc screen in connections/bluetooth just allows me to turn on bluetooth (which I've done obviously) and then find the device, which it does no problem.

Any ideas, I know the receiever is fine as it works with TomTom, its just Pocket Streets that has a problem?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> News And Latest Information All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9  Next
Page 8 of 9

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
21.021 (01 Feb 23)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping