Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
Read the current newsletter! Weekly
Newsletter
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - Entering co-ords and getting a map displayed
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

Entering co-ords and getting a map displayed

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Garmin Portable Navigation Devices
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
ZA-Tim
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jan 28, 2005
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Fri Jan 28, 2005 7:28 pm    Post subject: Entering co-ords and getting a map displayed Reply with quote

Anyone know how one can enter co-ords on the Quest and have the Quest show you that spot on the map?

It's easy enough to scroll around a displayed map and then have the Quest show you the co-ords for the spot under the pointer but I want to do it the other way around.

This arose when a friend gave me the co-ords for a particular location and I wanted to enter them into my Quest so that I could see where the location is on a map.

For the life of me I can't figure out how to do this.

The closest I got was to create a waypoint by entering co-ords but then I couldn't figure out how to get the Quest to display the map with that waypoint on it.

Tim
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tjr
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jan 06, 2005
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Sat Jan 29, 2005 12:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can do this. Enter your coordinates into a waypoint. Open the waypoint page, e.g. Find -> My locations, pick the waypoint and press OK.

Press Menu and choose Show Map :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ZA-Tim
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jan 28, 2005
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Mon Jan 31, 2005 10:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

YES!! :D

Thanks tjr, you're a star!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Number6
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Feb 02, 2005
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Wed Feb 02, 2005 6:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

tjr wrote:
You can do this. Enter your coordinates into a waypoint. Open the waypoint page, e.g. Find -> My locations, pick the waypoint and press OK.

Press Menu and choose Show Map :D

tjr, is this done directly on the quest or via the pc? I can't find waypoint page as you described.
Andy.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Skippy
Pocket GPS Verifier
Pocket GPS Verifier


Joined: 24/06/2003 00:22:12
Posts: 2946
Location: Escaped to the Antipodies! 36.83S 174.75E

PostPosted: Wed Feb 02, 2005 10:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Try holding OK down until you get the "Where Am I" page and then see if you can edit the Lat/Long in "Current Location" (this works on my GPS-V anyway!)
_________________
Gone fishing!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Number6
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Feb 02, 2005
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Wed Feb 02, 2005 10:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks Skippy but it won't let me edit the co-ordinates.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tjr
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jan 06, 2005
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Wed Feb 02, 2005 11:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is on the quest. Actually the Quest doesn't use the term waypoint anywhere, though most regular GPS use it to denote the stored locations.

Like I said press Find, then choose 'My Locations'. You get a list of the locations (I presume you have saved some locations). Choose the one you want and press OK. It displays a page with the title "Review My Location", showing the name, location (coordinates), comment etc. Press the Menu button when you are on this page. The first option is "Show Map". This displays the map centred on the location.

The same feature is available for other Find options, like addresses, cities.

[/quote]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Number6
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Feb 02, 2005
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Wed Feb 02, 2005 11:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorted :D My problem was trying to amend the co-ordinates for 'HOME' location........you can't do that. You can however pick any other location, save it, then amend the co-ordinates as desired and go to it on the map. Thanks tjr and Skippy, you were both correct. Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Garmin Portable Navigation Devices All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Powered by phpBB 2.0.11 © 2001 phpBB Group
phpBB port v2.1 based on Tom Nitzschner's phpbb2.0.6 upgraded to phpBB 2.0.4 standalone was developed and tested by:
ArtificialIntel, ChatServ, mikem,
sixonetonoffun and Paul Laudanski (aka Zhen-Xjell).

Version 2.1 by Nuke Cops 2003 http://www.nukecops.com

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
20.013 (19 Jan 22)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping