Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - TomTom Navigator 2 Activation
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

TomTom Navigator 2 Activation
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> TomTom Software-Only Products
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Boozshey
Occasional Visitor


Joined: 28/01/2003 20:59:02
Posts: 27
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sun Sep 14, 2003 8:04 am    Post subject: TomTom Navigator 2 Activation Reply with quote

I was just about to go and purchase TT2. I might hold off now.



I understand the companys approach to secureing there software but give me a break!!! So what I understand from this thread is that if I don't have an Internet connection at home then I can't activate the product? Plain and simple....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Dave
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Sep 10, 2003
Posts: 6460
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sun Sep 14, 2003 8:04 am    Post subject: TomTom Navigator 2 Activation Reply with quote

It shouldn't. AFAIK the serial numbers that are included in each Pocket PC which can be accessed through Pocket PC 2002 OS are hard coded into the chips, just like Intel's are. This means that performing a hard reset should not impact and change the serial number.



The problem that some people (and only a few) have experienced is performing a ROM update, for some unexplicable reason has wiped the device ID from the chip. Not entirely sure how this happens, and I presume that it's probably a bug within a batch of Pocket PC's or within the ROM update process itself, but although very remote, it does happen.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Fuego
Regular Visitor


Joined: 07/06/2003 16:45:14
Posts: 114
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Sun Sep 14, 2003 8:04 am    Post subject: TomTom Navigator 2 Activation Reply with quote

Hmmm I'm still not clear if a hard reset means you're going to run into re-activation problems.



If that is the case, then I would have to give product activation that works this way a big, big thumbs down.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gwydion
Occasional Visitor


Joined: 18/06/2003 18:58:02
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Sun Sep 14, 2003 8:04 am    Post subject: TomTom Navigator 2 Activation Reply with quote

Just a word of warning. I backed up my rom on my compaq 3970 and then updated the rom to the most current version. This caused slow address searches in TTN2 on my SD card. I was advised to go back to my previous rom which I did from the backup I had made. This wiped the Device ID from my Ipaq and the only solution to get it back was to send it to compaq to get the rom flashed. Apparently I'm not the only one this has happened to either. I only realised the device ID had been wiped when I tried to install SmartST on my Ipaq and it would not authenticate. I guess TTN2 would not install either in that case....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dave
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Sep 10, 2003
Posts: 6460
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sun Sep 14, 2003 8:04 am    Post subject: TomTom Navigator 2 Activation Reply with quote

There are some problems with TTN2.22 and activation with the European maps, this is something Mike experienced recently.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
xantia
Regular Visitor


Joined: 30/12/2002 14:19:38
Posts: 78
Location: West Midlands. U.K.

PostPosted: Sun Sep 14, 2003 8:04 am    Post subject: TomTom Navigator 2 Activation Reply with quote

Spoke to TOMTOM in Holland this morning, they were most helpful and sorted out the problem, I appears that they do know of instances when the device code changes itself



Mike


_________________
TomTom Start 60
Tom Tom Go 6000
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
xantia
Regular Visitor


Joined: 30/12/2002 14:19:38
Posts: 78
Location: West Midlands. U.K.

PostPosted: Sun Sep 14, 2003 8:04 am    Post subject: TomTom Navigator 2 Activation Reply with quote

HELP HELP. I bought the Europe Set of CD's to use in France this weekend, I sent a previous e-mail re my LOOX requiring an activation key every time I change the CF card. I am now unable to activate, when I put in the code of 55VHQ 3MLDL T3R2S your screen tells me the product has been activated (I did it last night) your screen also says 'if your device code is AWFSS 7UC4A then click here. If i click on this the code 79669 GJ4BX ZENP2 is displayed which is the code your system gave me las night, this does not work also. Please advise as I am going to France on Thursday evening. Dave this is a copy of my e-mail to TOMTOM this evening, I thik it is self explanatory
_________________
TomTom Start 60
Tom Tom Go 6000
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Dave
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Sep 10, 2003
Posts: 6460
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sun Sep 14, 2003 8:04 am    Post subject: TomTom Navigator 2 Activation Reply with quote

Are you running a personal firewall like WinXP or ZoneAlarm ? It could also be a border/gateway firewall that could be blocking. As far as I could tell the traffic does go out on a regular known port, but it is possible that this could be causing a problem.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
genghisackroyd
Occasional Visitor


Joined: 13/03/2003 16:01:39
Posts: 46
Location: 'Up a big 'ill int Yorkshire', U.K.

PostPosted: Sun Sep 14, 2003 8:04 am    Post subject: TomTom Navigator 2 Activation Reply with quote

I don't know if anyone else has had my problem - I have just installed Nav 2 and during the set up it asks do you wish to get the activation code and the last twice I have said 'yes' NOTHING happens and the set-up program exits......really helpful.



If I answer no then installation can proceed as usual, I am wondering if any firewall/blocking software is doing anything as I am doing this from work.



Any thoughts?



Chris


_________________
______________________________________

PDA Current: iPAQ hx4700 + Co-Pilot Live/TomTom 2, 3 & 5 + Fortuna Clip-On + 512Mb Ultra ii SD + 256Mb SD + Brodit Active Mount

PDA History: iPAQs (2210 <-- 3970) <-- Palms (M515 <-- M505)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Darren
Frequent Visitor


Joined: 11/07/2002 14:36:40
Posts: 23848
Location: Hampshire, UK

PostPosted: Sun Sep 14, 2003 8:04 am    Post subject: TomTom Navigator 2 Activation Reply with quote

Not quite, If you don't have an Internet connection on your home PC you can still install the software there and register it manually later on another internet connected by accessing TomTom's registration website where you type in the code that is shown on screen post install. This will provide you with the authorisation code necessary to activate the software.
_________________
Darren Griffin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Gwydion
Occasional Visitor


Joined: 18/06/2003 18:58:02
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Sun Sep 14, 2003 8:04 am    Post subject: TomTom Navigator 2 Activation Reply with quote

Just to clarify, apparently the problem I had only occurs when you restore a "backed up" rom not a previous rom version, if that makes sense Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dave
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Sep 10, 2003
Posts: 6460
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sun Sep 14, 2003 8:04 am    Post subject: TomTom Navigator 2 Activation Reply with quote

That's correct. I've recorded my code in my regcode database I keep reg codes for other software in, that way I've got it just in case I need it at anytime.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
aero
Regular Visitor


Joined: 12/03/2003 01:20:45
Posts: 121
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Sun Sep 14, 2003 8:04 am    Post subject: TomTom Navigator 2 Activation Reply with quote

Thank you, yes that does make sense because the second code has always been the same. In fact I needn't go back to the website as long as I make a note of the code.



Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dave
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Sep 10, 2003
Posts: 6460
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sun Sep 14, 2003 8:04 am    Post subject: TomTom Navigator 2 Activation Reply with quote

Not exactly, what happens when you activate either on the Pocket PC, or via TTCode.com is that you have to supply the serial number that is on the CD (key pair 1). Everytime you supply this, it will come back with the same Serial key. Now if you're installing it to the Pocket PC, there will be another code come up (key pair 2) which you need to enter at ttcode.com and this will then generate the final serial number you need to use.



If you want to install onto a different Pocket PC, you'll be told that that key doesn't work, and you need to enter the code shown on your Pocket PC to ttcode.com and this will regenerate a new code, and notify TomTom that you've now installed it to x devices, and this then limits you installing to x more.



It's complicated, but you shouldn't have any problems installing it to the same Pocket PC. If your PC got wiped or stolen, then you will still be able to use the serial number given to you by ttcode.com, by entering it manually on the Pocket PC, it's just if you change your Pocket PC, that's where things can get complicated.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
aero
Regular Visitor


Joined: 12/03/2003 01:20:45
Posts: 121
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Sun Sep 14, 2003 8:04 am    Post subject: TomTom Navigator 2 Activation Reply with quote

So my pc and laptop (which have both been in 'contact' with my PPC) store the device id for the PPC. When I go online to ttcode the info is retrieved from the pc or laptop, and doesn't need the PPC to be connected via activesync.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> TomTom Software-Only Products All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
Page 1 of 5

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
22.024 (28 Feb 24)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping