Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
Read the current newsletter! Weekly
Newsletter
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - Off road routing in Mapsource
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

Off road routing in Mapsource

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Garmin Portable Navigation Devices
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Zmurf
Occasional Visitor


Joined: 25/07/2003 17:10:28
Posts: 17
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Fri Dec 17, 2004 7:47 pm    Post subject: Off road routing in Mapsource Reply with quote

I'm trying to use Mapsource to create a route in northern Morocco for my Street pilot 2610. As only a few of the roads are shown, I was hoping to create a route using waypoints, but Mapsource keeps trying to route me on roads.



In the example above, I can route off road from 'Ketama' to 'pass' and it does a straight line route, but as soon as I include Taounate, the software insists on routing me round on major roads. It doesn't even go the quickest way either as it ignores the fairly good road going south east from Ouazzane.

I've upgraded to the latest 6.5 beta version but no difference.

Any ideas?

Tim
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Oldie
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: 22/11/2002 13:33:48
Posts: 992
Location: Surrey, UK

PostPosted: Fri Dec 17, 2004 9:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you select Preferences... under the Edit menu and then the Routing Tab you will see a Radio button marked Use Direct Routes. Select it and click OK.

Richard
_________________
Various TomToms, Garmin eTrex Legend, GPSMAP 60CSx, Oregon 550t, Forerunner 405
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Zmurf
Occasional Visitor


Joined: 25/07/2003 17:10:28
Posts: 17
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Sat Dec 18, 2004 2:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Many thanks, Richard. Just shows how minimal the manual is, for there's no mention at all of this.

I've found I can toggle the setting depending upon whether there's roads or not to produce a hybrid route. It will be interesting to see how this works when downloaded to the 2610...

Tim
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Zmurf
Occasional Visitor


Joined: 25/07/2003 17:10:28
Posts: 17
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Mon Dec 20, 2004 11:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The reason Mapsource wouldn't use the road going south east from Ouazzane is because there's a tiny gap (which shouldn't be there) between the two roads which can only be bridged by forcing an artificial off-road between them.

Tim
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Skippy
Pocket GPS Verifier
Pocket GPS Verifier


Joined: 24/06/2003 00:22:12
Posts: 2946
Location: Escaped to the Antipodies! 36.83S 174.75E

PostPosted: Mon Dec 20, 2004 2:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Which Mapsource product are you using ? Mine doesn't go that far south.

When I route off road, my GPS-V will display the route as a straight line or alternatively as a compass heading with bearing and cross track error. Pretty cool.
_________________
Gone fishing!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Zmurf
Occasional Visitor


Joined: 25/07/2003 17:10:28
Posts: 17
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Mon Dec 20, 2004 2:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's the very basic level mapping which comes as part of the Atlantic basemap which is bundled with European Garmins. The Atlantic basemap includes Europe, North Africa and half of Turkey.

I'm thinking of getting the Garmin WorldMap to extend this.

Tim
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Skippy
Pocket GPS Verifier
Pocket GPS Verifier


Joined: 24/06/2003 00:22:12
Posts: 2946
Location: Escaped to the Antipodies! 36.83S 174.75E

PostPosted: Mon Dec 20, 2004 3:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK, you probably have v6 when mine is the old City Select v4 which doesn't go quite that far south.

Worldmap is OK, but the roads are often off by 500-1000 meters (similar to the basemap). The version I have is not routable, so the GPS will only do straight line routes.

I don't know why they don't have a routable worldmap, I think it is because it could be used to overcome their brain damaged non nonchangable basemap policy...
_________________
Gone fishing!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Garmin Portable Navigation Devices All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Powered by phpBB 2.0.11 © 2001 phpBB Group
phpBB port v2.1 based on Tom Nitzschner's phpbb2.0.6 upgraded to phpBB 2.0.4 standalone was developed and tested by:
ArtificialIntel, ChatServ, mikem,
sixonetonoffun and Paul Laudanski (aka Zhen-Xjell).

Version 2.1 by Nuke Cops 2003 http://www.nukecops.com

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
19.012 (12 Jan 22)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping