Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
Read the current newsletter! Weekly
Newsletter
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
MacFixer, the iPhone, iPod, and iPad specialists
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - Fortuna Clip GPS / Ipaq 2210 / MM2004
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

Fortuna Clip GPS / Ipaq 2210 / MM2004

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Memory-Map
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
PaulBoy
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jan 12, 2005
Posts: 50
Location: Surrey UK

PostPosted: Thu Jan 13, 2005 10:13 am    Post subject: Fortuna Clip GPS / Ipaq 2210 / MM2004 Reply with quote

My Ipaq is detecting the GPS OK but when I run MM2004 on the Ipaq there is no indication that the GPS is working?
If I select the info (i) icon I get the message "GPS: License not valid for GPS plot"
Perhaps I have the GPS settings wrong in MM2004
SiRF
Com5 BT Serial Port
Baud 38400
Perhaps I haven't a clue & none of this comes with decent manuals :x
Any help for a real thicko appreciated ... Paul Confused
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Darren
Pocket GPS Staff
Pocket GPS Staff


Joined: 11/07/2002 14:36:40
Posts: 23848
Location: Hampshire, UK

PostPosted: Thu Jan 13, 2005 11:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Do you have the demo version of Memory-Map? The GPS functionality is disabled in the demo version, you need to unlock using a valid key before GPS can be enabled.
_________________
Darren Griffin - Editor
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
PaulBoy
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jan 12, 2005
Posts: 50
Location: Surrey UK

PostPosted: Thu Jan 13, 2005 2:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Darren - thanks for your prompt reply!
I did have the demo of MM2004 installed before buying the product but followed the insturctions & had the Ipaq connected via Active Sync when I installed to my PC & Ipaq
How can I update the Ipaq to the "full" version from the trial (I couldnt find any way of uninstalling the demo before installing the full version)
To save me starting another thread I noticed the GPS unit stops blinking the blue led after a few minutes - is that normal ?
Thanks for your help ... Paul ;)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Darren
Pocket GPS Staff
Pocket GPS Staff


Joined: 11/07/2002 14:36:40
Posts: 23848
Location: Hampshire, UK

PostPosted: Thu Jan 13, 2005 2:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Open the MM2004 PC client and on the toolbar menus there is an option to re-deploy the PPC Client. As long as the PC Client is licenced then this will update the PPC Client.
_________________
Darren Griffin - Editor
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
PaulBoy
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jan 12, 2005
Posts: 50
Location: Surrey UK

PostPosted: Thu Jan 13, 2005 4:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Darren - spot on! - I am home now & managed to remove MM from the Ipaq & reinstalled - I am now be able to get the GPS to find a signal (red led changes to green) but when I check the Ipaq MM shows errors of Cant open COM Port (also had GPS Timeout or something) and as per my earlier query the BT led stops after a minute or two ...
Keep up the good work - Paul ;)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Darren
Pocket GPS Staff
Pocket GPS Staff


Joined: 11/07/2002 14:36:40
Posts: 23848
Location: Hampshire, UK

PostPosted: Thu Jan 13, 2005 4:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Do you have TomTom installed?
_________________
Darren Griffin - Editor
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
PaulBoy
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jan 12, 2005
Posts: 50
Location: Surrey UK

PostPosted: Thu Jan 13, 2005 4:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Darren - No but I was thinking of it in the future (!)
I have noticed on another thread it appears I should be on NMEA Protocol even though the Fortuna is SiRF chipset wise
What about ST or XT (just in the garden for the minute) ?
As I keep mentioning the BT keeps dropping out after a minute or two
Cheers ... Paul ;)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Darren
Pocket GPS Staff
Pocket GPS Staff


Joined: 11/07/2002 14:36:40
Posts: 23848
Location: Hampshire, UK

PostPosted: Thu Jan 13, 2005 4:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes use NMEA as the protocol in MM's config.
_________________
Darren Griffin - Editor
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
PaulBoy
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jan 12, 2005
Posts: 50
Location: Surrey UK

PostPosted: Fri Jan 14, 2005 10:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Darren - spend ages trying to use this GPS / Ipaq combination without success
In a nutshell the issues are ...
After getting BT connection between the 2 devices I am not getting any feedback on MM that the GPS has worked & error messages about Timeouts & Communications
After a minute or so the BT connection drops out (Ipaq BT continues to blink but GPS stops)
I am still unsure about whether to use ST or XT setting (or should this vary depending on location)
A I right in assuming that the GPS will not work indoors (?)
I tried it in my car (BMW) and got no signal (do I need an external aerial ?)
Sorry for so many questions Embarassed
Paul
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PaulBoy
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jan 12, 2005
Posts: 50
Location: Surrey UK

PostPosted: Sat Jan 15, 2005 5:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Got the problems sorted as per my thread here on the Fortuna Forum
http://www.pocketgpsworld.com/modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewtopic&t=15448
Just been out "wandering" & even the missus was impressed Rolling Eyes
Thanks again ... Paul ;)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Memory-Map All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Powered by phpBB 2.0.11 © 2001 phpBB Group
phpBB port v2.1 based on Tom Nitzschner's phpbb2.0.6 upgraded to phpBB 2.0.4 standalone was developed and tested by:
ArtificialIntel, ChatServ, mikem,
sixonetonoffun and Paul Laudanski (aka Zhen-Xjell).

Version 2.1 by Nuke Cops 2003 http://www.nukecops.com

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
20.093 (21 Sep 22)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping