Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - TTFF in a different country using Leadtek 9543LP engine
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

TTFF in a different country using Leadtek 9543LP engine

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Advanced GPS Lounge
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Tim_D
Occasional Visitor

PostPosted: Wed Nov 24, 2004 2:02 pm    Post subject: TTFF in a different country using Leadtek 9543LP engine Reply with quote

Hello,

I am a design engineer involved in a new gps application based around the Leadtek 9543LP module.

The application requires a GPS fix in under 3 minutes. After this time, the GPS engine is shut down to conserve power and will re-acquire its position in 20 minutes (the user is not expected to move much). If the engine has not achieved a 'lock' then it will hunt quite agressively for 3 minute periods.

There is a default almanac loaded - so the engine is getting it's TTFF from a COLD start each time.

I have sent the application over to the USA for evaluation and have had some feedback from the engineers testing the unit that it is not locking (in full view of the sky) They have implied that all European GPS experience such problems and have made a suggestion that we keep the GPS powered for 30 minutes initially.

I have approached the supplier of the gps who have said it should be approximately 45 seconds cold start TTFF worldwide....

Can I believe them? Rolling Eyes Has anyone experience of getting a fast lock after stepping off the plane in a distant country?

There is a chance something has broken in transit but it is unlikely.

Many thanks for your comments in advance.

Tim
DavidW
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator