Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - TomTom Traffic - Is TomTom Struggling ? ? ?
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

TomTom Traffic - Is TomTom Struggling ? ? ?

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> TomTom Software-Only Products
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
SpeedCam
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Mar 18, 2004
Posts: 753
Location: Biggleswade, BEDS

PostPosted: Fri Dec 03, 2004 7:32 pm    Post subject: TomTom Traffic - Is TomTom Struggling ? ? ? Reply with quote

It appears that TomTom maybe struggling with their Traffic service firstly they send out a questionaire regarding Traffic pricing & functionallity, and now have reduced the price to 29E about £20.

I might purchase a subscription at £20 ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Wilko
Regular Visitor


Joined: Nov 17, 2003
Posts: 203

PostPosted: Fri Dec 03, 2004 7:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I didn't get a questionaire, but just had a look at my account on their site and they are offering a year at 29E and a month at 9.95E. Might give it another go since last time I used it was for a week during the free trial.

Does anybody find it more useful/improved now its been out for almost 7 months?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SimonCatlin
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Jan 11, 2004
Posts: 565
Location: London

PostPosted: Sat Dec 04, 2004 12:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It has improved massively IMHO. I can comment on the quality of the data as this is an iTis issue, but the relability (subject to GPRS) has been very good.

I drove from West London down to Haverfordwest last week and it set it at update every 10 minutes (for a laugh!). Dropped connection once as we crossed the Second Severn Crossing, but the data was accurate and I arrived on time, not once did the server fail to provide the data!
_________________
iPhone5, TomTom, Google maps, Navfree, Viewranger and Apple Maps (ekk)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
Wilko
Regular Visitor


Joined: Nov 17, 2003
Posts: 203

PostPosted: Sat Dec 04, 2004 1:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I paid £20 and re-activated my account again last night. Coverage and the speed of the program seems to have massively improved since the first week of the trial.

Had to mess around for ages trying to get my 2210 to talk to my K700i though, ended up searching the internet and finding I had to put Z into the modem setting's extra string box instead of AT+CGDCONT=1,”IP”,”MOBILE.O2.CO.UK” as it says on the TomTom site.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DavidW
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: 17/05/2003 02:26:21
Posts: 3747
Location: Bedfordshire, UK

PostPosted: Sat Dec 04, 2004 5:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If that instruction is on the TomTom site, TomTom Support haven't checked their instructions.

Pocket PC automatically prepends an AT, so it should just be +CGDCONT etc.



David
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Wilko
Regular Visitor


Joined: Nov 17, 2003
Posts: 203

PostPosted: Sun Dec 05, 2004 1:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

DavidW wrote:
+CGDCONT


Tried that too. And *99**1# as some sites say to put in the dialing number (instead of *99#) to activate the CID 1 for the GPRS settings.

+CGDCONT is what worked on my Motorola V500 when I was on Orange, but for some reason Z is what works on my Sony Ericsson K700i and O2. Confused

At least its working :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DavidW
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: 17/05/2003 02:26:21
Posts: 3747
Location: Bedfordshire, UK

PostPosted: Sun Dec 05, 2004 5:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Some SonyEricsson handsets don't like you using context ID 1 for a GPRS Internet connection. Nokia phones usually only have one context ID available - so you have to use 1.

It may have worked if you'd used a different context ID - but if Z (which is really a 'do nothing' string) works, that's the key thing. You may find, though, if you lose or somehow change the GPRS settings on your phone that your connection will stop working. If you set up a GPRS context and explicitly activate that context, it will work irrespective of any settings on the phone.



David
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> TomTom Software-Only Products All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
21.014 (25 Jan 23)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







© Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping