Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
MacFixer, the iPhone, iPod, and iPad specialists
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - How can I check the Fortuna Clip On Bluetooth Xtrac version?
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

How can I check the Fortuna Clip On Bluetooth Xtrac version?
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> GPS Receivers
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Jammer
Regular Visitor


Joined: Aug 09, 2004
Posts: 100
Location: London

PostPosted: Sat Aug 28, 2004 3:45 pm    Post subject: How can I check the Fortuna Clip On Bluetooth Xtrac version? Reply with quote

Can someone tell me how I can check what version of Xtrac I have on my Fortuna Clip On?

It's been purchased very recently... so I assume it must have the latest version?

Thanks.


OM
_________________
iPaq 3870
Fortuna Clip On Bluetooth
Tomtom
London
Currently testing Fortuna to see if it's any good!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MarkH
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Apr 03, 2004
Posts: 56
Location: London, UK

PostPosted: Sat Aug 28, 2004 9:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I used Emtac CruxView - runs on your PC:

http://www.pocketgpsworld.com/modules.php?name=Downloads&d_op=viewdownload&cid=1

-Connect to the GPSR in bluetooth places.
-Note the COM port it is connected to.
-Run CruxView, set COM port and Baud to 38400
-Press Open
-Press Reset and quickly select the Message tab and press the Stop button - the first few lines after you press the Reset button should contain the version number
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
iclick
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jul 21, 2004
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Mon Aug 30, 2004 1:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The easy way to tell:

1. Put the GPS in XT mode.

2. When it makes a fix, if v2 the middle LED of the Clip-on will turn green, as in ST mode. If v1.1 the light will remain orange regardless of status.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jammer
Regular Visitor


Joined: Aug 09, 2004
Posts: 100
Location: London

PostPosted: Mon Aug 30, 2004 1:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hey kewl...!
I just tested it out and I got a green light!

How did you know this?

Thanks!

So... does this mean that I should use XT mode only from now on?
Does ST mode still have any advantages?
_________________
iPaq 3870
Fortuna Clip On Bluetooth
Tomtom
London
Currently testing Fortuna to see if it's any good!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
iclick
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jul 21, 2004
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Mon Aug 30, 2004 4:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jammer wrote:
Hey kewl...!
I just tested it out and I got a green light! How did you know this?


Some of us weren't as lucky as you by having XT v2 already installed on our Clip-ons, and had to flash it from v1.1, an arcane process at best. There was much discussion of this process here and elsewhere last July wnen the upgrade was announced, and the change of LED operation was one tidbit picked up from these discussions.

Quote:
So... does this mean that I should use XT mode only from now on? Does ST mode still have any advantages?


I'm using only XT mode, as it works very well for me for road travel in the car. I've seen some minor lagging once or twice, always while riding under heavy foliage, but using ST mode causes dropouts and a loss of the fix under the same conditions. XT v1.1 had more lag and wasn't as sensitive keeping a fix, although both XT versions were better at keeping the fix than ST. XT v1.1 would wander at times for no reason, like show me off the road 50 ft. or so, but would recover within a few seconds. XT v2 has not shown this tendency in the same places. For me, I'll keep in in XT mode.

XT v2 has been very sensitive holding a fix, and I can leave the GPS on the console of the car with no problem. I'd recommend trying both modes and decide the best for your needs. I haven't used mine except inside the car, so YMMV for other applications, like hiking.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jammer
Regular Visitor


Joined: Aug 09, 2004
Posts: 100
Location: London

PostPosted: Mon Aug 30, 2004 11:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I emailed Fortuna and asked them how I could tell if I had V2 Xtrac.
This is what they said:

Quote:

Please check your serial number and if it is with LA150..... then it is with Xtrac V2, LA140..... and under is with Xtrac V1. If you have the V1 please contact your dealer for upgrade procedures.

_________________
iPaq 3870
Fortuna Clip On Bluetooth
Tomtom
London
Currently testing Fortuna to see if it's any good!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Man&Dog
Occasional Visitor


Joined: 05/09/2003 19:56:48
Posts: 15
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Mon Aug 30, 2004 7:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Folks
The Fortuna Clip On saga goes on!
I bought a Clip On end of May in the UK and tried reflashing when V2 was released. It failed. Contacted Fortuna who supplied the the flash memory reset info which also failed and they also stated that V2 was released in June.
Many posts about gps LED red to green in XT mode which I get so I assumed I had a V2 unit.
Now Fortune state that the serial number has to be LA150...... MY Clip On serial number is LA140......! Where does this leave me!
In XT I see a small lag but nothing significant, but also I see a 6-10m offset compared to my Navman 3000 sleeve using MM2003.
Would be nice if Fortuna posted on their site some info.
Man & Dog
Dog fed up Sad Sad Sad Sad
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
unity1
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Oct 14, 2004
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sat Oct 16, 2004 10:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

In order to foloowup my issue with the clip-on and o2 XDA2 I've tried this Crux_View.

I have tried it with the default bluetooth drivers but the software reports 'no BT ports found' when using the BT button or 'Com port cant open' when using the com 6 which was setup when the device bonded.

In addition I have also tried it with the XDA dBT drivers from http://www.bluetooth.jazztel.es/ In attempt to rule out M$ BT drivers on the PDA. With this installed I can now force a comport (com 7). Crux_view is now 'connecting to the clipon but give an 'baud rate set error' even with it set to 38400. I have tried all other baud rates with the same result.

Has anyone got any ideas what the problem my be. Is there anywhere else you need to set the baud rate or do I have either a fault XDA or reciever. With both being new I cannot confirm either.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gordonbe
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Oct 20, 2004
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Wed Oct 20, 2004 4:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have the Belkin BT GPS which is the same as the Fortuna Clip-on. Belkin tells me they have no plans for a ROM upgrade.

Can someone point me to the install bits to upgrade my XT to the latest version?

Thanks,

GB
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lost Cause
Occasional Visitor


Joined: 06/06/2003 10:17:21
Posts: 57
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Wed Oct 20, 2004 5:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I also encountered several problems when trying to flash to Xtrac 2, but careful reading of the following finally got me there. It is a long thread, but contains much useful information about this fussy upgrade. It also has links to the flash files

http://www.gpspassion.com/forumsen/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=12597&whichpage=1
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lost Cause
Occasional Visitor


Joined: 06/06/2003 10:17:21
Posts: 57
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Wed Oct 20, 2004 5:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Oh, and as a 'by the way', from new I always got a GREEN light when my Fortuna had fixed in XT mode - even thought I was definitely running version 1.

I continued to get a green fix light after flash upgrading to Xtrac 2. Maybe there was a small batch of late Fortunas made (just before the Xtrac 2 upgraded version), that fixed with green lights in XT mode?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wheream1
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Aug 02, 2004
Posts: 42
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Thu Oct 21, 2004 5:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hi can anyone tell me where to get the xtrac upgrade and the step by step instructions on how to flash my clip on, when i went onto the website(fortuna) i have no idea which bit is the firmware upgrade software,

also i have a blutooth dongle,will this help with the upgrade?

thank you Smile
_________________
TOMTOM ONE V2 ***DID HAVE: Hp Ipaq 2210, Fortuna B/T clip on, Tomtom Navigator V3.03, Tomtom GPS v3.07, 512mb Kingston sd card.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bihus
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Feb 18, 2005
Posts: 9
Location: Portugal

PostPosted: Wed Feb 23, 2005 12:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

And what about if the serial number is LC170? I guess it is later than the LA150, right? I would prefer to buy a new version and bypass the upgrade procedure.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
celica18st
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Feb 22, 2005
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Wed Feb 23, 2005 12:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well mines an LD170 purchased this week!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
CheshireCat
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Dec 20, 2003
Posts: 23
Location: Cheshire, UK

PostPosted: Tue Mar 01, 2005 12:40 am    Post subject: Green middle light in XT mode doesn't necessarily mean V2 Reply with quote

I reflashed my Clip-on to V2 but found it unusable for walking so reflashed it back to V1. The GPS behaviour is as it was before flashing to V2 but the middle light continues to work as it did under V2: it starts red and goes green when a fix is obtained in XT mode.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> GPS Receivers All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Powered by phpBB 2.0.11 © 2001 phpBB Group
phpBB port v2.1 based on Tom Nitzschner's phpbb2.0.6 upgraded to phpBB 2.0.4 standalone was developed and tested by:
ArtificialIntel, ChatServ, mikem,
sixonetonoffun and Paul Laudanski (aka Zhen-Xjell).

Version 2.1 by Nuke Cops 2003 http://www.nukecops.com

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
20.121 (07 Dec 22)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping