Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
Read the current newsletter! Weekly
Newsletter
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - Nuvi 3598-D First impressions / Latest firmware (4.80)
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

Nuvi 3598-D First impressions / Latest firmware (4.80)
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 14, 15, 16 ... 20, 21, 22  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Garmin Portable Navigation Devices
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
gazza70
Regular Visitor


Joined: Feb 28, 2006
Posts: 129

PostPosted: Sat May 03, 2014 3:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

walkerx is that the free digital traffic or down loading via the app?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
walkerx
Lifetime Member


Joined: Oct 21, 2009
Posts: 485
Location: South Yorkshire

PostPosted: Sun May 04, 2014 12:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

gazza70 wrote:
walkerx is that the free digital traffic or down loading via the app?


it's the digital traffic - i've had no issues with it and it has reported stuff better than TT's hd traffic - also TT's traffic had a tendency for failing on a regular basis
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
daveg247
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Dec 25, 2008
Posts: 59

PostPosted: Mon May 12, 2014 7:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi all

Is there anyway to transfer maps route from new Google maps to the 3598? Tried to enter the coordinates for a way point but am struggling for some reason, pretty sure it used to work fine will take W 53.32501 but not -0.942336 Crying or Very sad cheers
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sussamb
Pocket GPS Verifier
Pocket GPS Verifier


Joined: Mar 18, 2011
Posts: 4399
Location: West Sussex

PostPosted: Mon May 12, 2014 10:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Unfortunately not, Mapquest works though:

1) Plug your nuvi in to the computer and go to www.mapquest.com.
2) Click on Get Directions. Put in your starting address as point A and your final destination as point B. Click Get Directions and Mapquest will calculate a default route and show it on the map with a blue line.
3) Add shaping points. This is basically done with "rubber banding" the blue route line. Zoom in on an area where you want to shape the route, grab the blue line, drag it to a road segment you want your route to pass through, and drop it on the road. This will put a red dot at this point and redraw the blue route line through it. Do this with each desired shaping point until the route is the way you want it.
4) Change the shaping points to "Stops". For each red dot on your route, right click on it and select "Make it a route stop" on the Mapquest pop-up menu. This step turns the shaping points into via's that will be recognized by the nuvi.
5) Send the route to the nuvi. On the Mapquest menu select Send, Garmin GPS, Route. Enter a file name for the .GPX file, select your nuvi and press Send.
6) Import route. Safely remove your nuvi from the computer, boot it up. On newer nuvi's with Trip Planner, wait a few minutes and your transferred route should be recognized automatically and show up as a trip in the Trip menu. On older nuvi's with Custom Routes, go to Tools, My Data, Import route from file. Select the file you sent from Mapquest, let it calculate and save it.

Note that the more shaping points you create in Mapquest, the more likely your nuvi will calculate the same route you created in Mapquest.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kremmen
Pocket GPS Verifier
Pocket GPS Verifier


Joined: Mar 03, 2006
Posts: 6653
Location: West London & Reading

PostPosted: Tue May 13, 2014 6:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

That's useful to know - thanks Very Happy
_________________
Satnav:
Garmin DS61 LMT-D (In the car)
Garmin 2599 LMT-D (Indoor test rig)
DashCam:
Viofo A119 V3
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Chigman
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Feb 14, 2005
Posts: 48

PostPosted: Wed May 14, 2014 6:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes - thanks for that sussamb, that has come in very handy Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wibbley
Regular Visitor


Joined: Feb 08, 2007
Posts: 97

PostPosted: Sat Jun 07, 2014 11:15 am    Post subject: custom POIs Reply with quote

HI all,

I have just accidentally found a nice feature on the 3598 (yes I'm going to say something good about it :o)

Normally I use the free PGPSW POI section to combine similar POI groups into one POI list, for example B&Q, Homebase, Wicks, Screwfix. & then rename it 'DIY Stores' This saves having hundreds of separate POI categories to wade through.

On my Pc, I have a folder, with sub folders, each one named and containing a single .bmp and .csv file for that category. Then using POI Loader, I can easily load them onto my 3598. I have a separate folder for the PGPSW camera files.

You still with me? good, now by mistake, in my DIY custom POI folder on the Pc, I added two .bmp and two .csv files. One was for the DIY stores and another just for Screwfix. Then loaded them onto the sat-nav with POI Loader.

Now if I select where to - custom POIs and then select DIY, rather than giving me a list of the POIs, it gives me a sub-choice of the DIY stores or Screwfix. Result :o) I can now list all of the different DIY/builders shops listed separately within a sub group on the 3598.

I'm now going to have a play with the pgpsw speed cams. It is pointless having 40 or so separate speedcam files shown within the custom poi menu on the sat-nav. So maybe if I have a folder for the speed-cams then a sub-folder & put the cams in that, it will just show as one entry when loaded onto the sat-nav.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sussamb
Pocket GPS Verifier
Pocket GPS Verifier


Joined: Mar 18, 2011
Posts: 4399
Location: West Sussex

PostPosted: Sat Jun 07, 2014 11:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Are you using the consolidated files? I don't have 40 or so separate speedcam files Confused

And yes, I too create separate categories for specific POI groups ... it's easier then to delete/amend them also.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wibbley
Regular Visitor


Joined: Feb 08, 2007
Posts: 97

PostPosted: Sat Jun 07, 2014 12:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nope won't work with the pgpsw speed cams. garmin only allows 32 POI categories in a sub directory. So am stuck will having them all listed.

At least with my dodge of loading my custom POIs first, then the speed cams, the speed cams are listed at the bottom of the list out of the way.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kremmen
Pocket GPS Verifier
Pocket GPS Verifier


Joined: Mar 03, 2006
Posts: 6653
Location: West London & Reading

PostPosted: Sun Jun 08, 2014 5:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've counted my list and I reckon with the PMobile files it would come to 33 ?

I don't download the PMobiles so I'm guessing.
_________________
Satnav:
Garmin DS61 LMT-D (In the car)
Garmin 2599 LMT-D (Indoor test rig)
DashCam:
Viofo A119 V3
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sussamb
Pocket GPS Verifier
Pocket GPS Verifier


Joined: Mar 18, 2011
Posts: 4399
Location: West Sussex

PostPosted: Sun Jun 08, 2014 8:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've just got 5 categories and all the speed cams are there.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cubit
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Sep 19, 2010
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Sat Jun 21, 2014 12:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Bought one of the from Halfords at the weekend as it seemed to be a better option of shelling out 80 to update my Navigon 70, or 100 to update the mapping in my alpine head unit.
Anyway, didn't use it first but just updated the firmware to 4.30 and other updates along with latest maps.
Have to say, after a week travelling up to and around Edinburgh and the surrounding area and back to Leeds, I'm well impressed. Had no problems with grey blocks/screen, updated screen smoothly when I forced refreshes whilst 'playing' with the options.
The cyclopse camera alerts were pretty accurate too.
One thing it did struggle with is the centre of Edinburgh. It seemed to lose its bearings one particular area. That said, built in unit did the same thing in exact same spot. My Navigon did it last year too so I'm putting that down to satellite loss.

All in all, a decent bit of kit.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
walkerx
Lifetime Member


Joined: Oct 21, 2009
Posts: 485
Location: South Yorkshire

PostPosted: Sat Jun 21, 2014 12:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

cubit wrote:
Bought one of the from Halfords at the weekend as it seemed to be a better option of shelling out 80 to update my Navigon 70, or 100 to update the mapping in my alpine head unit.
Anyway, didn't use it first but just updated the firmware to 4.30 and other updates along with latest maps.
Have to say, after a week travelling up to and around Edinburgh and the surrounding area and back to Leeds, I'm well impressed. Had no problems with grey blocks/screen, updated screen smoothly when I forced refreshes whilst 'playing' with the options.
The cyclopse camera alerts were pretty accurate too.
One thing it did struggle with is the centre of Edinburgh. It seemed to lose its bearings one particular area. That said, built in unit did the same thing in exact same spot. My Navigon did it last year too so I'm putting that down to satellite loss.

All in all, a decent bit of kit.


hope it stays fine for you - took both my 3598's back due to grey block issues on screen - if it weren't for that issue I would have kept it - switched to TomTom device which so far has been a lot better than the Garmin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kremmen
Pocket GPS Verifier
Pocket GPS Verifier


Joined: Mar 03, 2006
Posts: 6653
Location: West London & Reading

PostPosted: Sat Jun 21, 2014 6:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm still wondering whether the top of the range 3x units have too much packed in for the processor and/or graphics speed.
My 2x unit has been 100% reliable since day 1 (2597LMT)
_________________
Satnav:
Garmin DS61 LMT-D (In the car)
Garmin 2599 LMT-D (Indoor test rig)
DashCam:
Viofo A119 V3
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sussamb
Pocket GPS Verifier
Pocket GPS Verifier


Joined: Mar 18, 2011
Posts: 4399
Location: West Sussex

PostPosted: Sat Jun 21, 2014 8:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yours and mine both (2508LMT-D). Too many bells and whistles on the 3xxx range, plus as you say they seem to struggle for processor power.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Garmin Portable Navigation Devices All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 14, 15, 16 ... 20, 21, 22  Next
Page 15 of 22

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Powered by phpBB 2.0.11 © 2001 phpBB Group
phpBB port v2.1 based on Tom Nitzschner's phpbb2.0.6 upgraded to phpBB 2.0.4 standalone was developed and tested by:
ArtificialIntel, ChatServ, mikem,
sixonetonoffun and Paul Laudanski (aka Zhen-Xjell).

Version 2.1 by Nuke Cops 2003 http://www.nukecops.com

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
20.054 (25 May 22)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping