Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - map update v875 available 16 Aug 2011
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

map update v875 available 16 Aug 2011
Goto page Previous  1, 2
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> TomTom Portable Navigation Devices
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Andy_P
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jun 04, 2005
Posts: 19991
Location: West and Southwest London

PostPosted: Wed Aug 17, 2011 1:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Froggy wrote:
if I leave the card IN my 750 Live, I am only offered one zone, so a card reader is the only option for the full map.


Not always....

I have definitely managed to update a full map onto the SD card while still in the TomTom, but if I did something clever, I now don't remember how I did it!

(I now use a Go940 and a Go950 and update to the internal memory having moved the smaller US map onto an SD card, so it's not been an issue recently).

TT's help file here, also seems to think you SHOULD be able to do it...


Quote:
Map Zones - full map on new memory card

If your navigation device has a memory card slot, you can install the full map instead of a map zone on a memory card. Insert a memory card and then connect your device to TomTom HOME.

Important:
Make sure that you are using the latest version of TomTom HOME (2.8 or higher). From the HOME menu, click Help / Check for HOME update. This version of HOME guides you through installing the full map on your memory card.

_________________
"Settling in nicely" ;-)


Last edited by Andy_P on Wed Aug 17, 2011 1:34 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KJR
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Aug 16, 2005
Posts: 18
Location: West Sussex

PostPosted: Wed Aug 17, 2011 1:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Froggy, Andy

Thanks, I have tried using the card reader as I have done in the past. I will check all the navcore files are on the SD card, follow andy's link and see what happens.

Kevin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Froggy
Regular Visitor


Joined: Sep 28, 2005
Posts: 147
Location: Glasgow

PostPosted: Wed Aug 17, 2011 1:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Methinks Tomtom speak with forked tongues - in my case (750 Live) the last 2 maps have both had to be downloaded using a card reader. If I have the card (4GB MicroSDHC) in the 750, I am only offered one zone, despite having selected the SD Card when logging in to Home (latest version, 2.8.2.1171 for Mac Laughing )
_________________
GO 750 Live HD Traffic, Map Europe 930, Navcore 9.510
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KJR
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Aug 16, 2005
Posts: 18
Location: West Sussex

PostPosted: Wed Aug 17, 2011 3:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have spoken with a pleasant Lass at TomTom who was very helpful and has resolved the problem.

Firstly Home only offered the Wester Europe Zone because all the old zones and 'whole' Europes were on the computer (please don't ask me why, ask TomTom!!). These were removed by simply going to 'Downloads' and renaming the 'TomTom' folder.

I was then sent to Manage my TomTom and asked to remove the Western Zone map that I had earlier downloaded. Aparently, Home will not let the whole map be downloaded if there is a Zone map already there. This seems odd to me but again - please don't ask me why, ask TomTom.

It has now allowed the Europe map to be downloaded with the SD card in the TomTom. This may explain why Andy P did this once and Froggy (and I) hadn't been able too. Apparently if the Europe map is downloaded first then a Zoned map can then be downloaded but not vice versa.

I should explain, I like to have Europe on the SD card and Western Zone on the internal memory in case the SD card goes U/S. I've had too many examples, over the years, of cards getting corrupted for no apparent reason.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Calomax
Lifetime Member


Joined: Sep 30, 2005
Posts: 988
Location: St Martin's, Guernsey

PostPosted: Wed Aug 17, 2011 5:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

KJR wrote:
I have spoken with a pleasant Lass at TomTom who was very helpful and has resolved the problem.

Firstly Home only offered the Wester Europe Zone because all the old zones and 'whole' Europes were on the computer (please don't ask me why, ask TomTom!!). These were removed by simply going to 'Downloads' and renaming the 'TomTom' folder.

I was then sent to Manage my TomTom and asked to remove the Western Zone map that I had earlier downloaded. Aparently, Home will not let the whole map be downloaded if there is a Zone map already there. This seems odd to me but again - please don't ask me why, ask TomTom.

It has now allowed the Europe map to be downloaded with the SD card in the TomTom. This may explain why Andy P did this once and Froggy (and I) hadn't been able too. Apparently if the Europe map is downloaded first then a Zoned map can then be downloaded but not vice versa. I should explain, I like to have Europe on the SD card and Western Zone on the internal memory in case the SD card goes U/S. I've had too many examples, over the years, of cards getting corrupted for no apparent reason.


This is all very strange. I connected to Home and chose the internal memory when I was offered and downloaded the new version of the western zone in about 30 minutes.

Then I changed device to the memory card while still in the device and was immediately offered the new version of the full Western Europe, which downloaded in about an hour.

There were no problems at all, except when I copied the Mapsettings file from my backup, I wasn't asked if I wanted to overwrite it. Apparently there was no Mapsettings file in the download. Anyway I had to revert to the "Operate my Go" trick before it would boot, but my speed camera warnings had to be all reset.
_________________
TT Go Essential
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Guivre46
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Apr 14, 2010
Posts: 1262
Location: West London

PostPosted: Fri Aug 19, 2011 9:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I see they've amalgamated all the POI parking options into one category. Two of my neighbours seem to be offering covered parking facilities that I had not noticed before....
_________________
Mike R [aka Wyvern46]
Go 530T - unsupported
Go550 Live [not renewed]
Kia In-dash Tomtom
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JockTamsonsBairn
Lifetime Member


Joined: Jan 10, 2004
Posts: 2777
Location: Bonnie Scotland (West Central)

PostPosted: Sat Aug 20, 2011 9:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Froggy wrote:
New section of the M74 is now active


It is, although I'm finding the routing a bit peculiar! Does a new road have no IQ routes data? If I plan a route from Hamilton to Paisley, and tell it to travel now Sat 09:30, it routes via M8, if I tell 08:00 Monday, it routes via M74. The M74 route is 3 miles shorter.
_________________
Jock

TomTom Go 940 LIVE (9.510, Europe v915.5074 on SD & 8.371, WCE v875.3613 on board)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
falkirk81
Pocket GPS Verifier
Pocket GPS Verifier


Joined: Jul 07, 2006
Posts: 1649
Location: Newcastle, England, UK

PostPosted: Sat Aug 20, 2011 9:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Same on my device! Also, it takes me off an J2 of the new M74 and straight back onto it when doing the route Paisley to Hamilton!

Strange!

Steven
_________________
Tomtom GO 1005 LIVE

iPhone 12
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Froggy
Regular Visitor


Joined: Sep 28, 2005
Posts: 147
Location: Glasgow

PostPosted: Sat Aug 20, 2011 10:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

There are errors in the map. Returning from the M8 to J2 Cambuslang, it tried to take me off at Polmadie, then back up the OFF ramp at Polmadie on to the wrong side of the M74!

I have tried to correct the errors, of which there were many (parts of carriegeway and off/on ramps open in both directions!!!), but have not been able to try it in anger yet...

Reluctant to share changes in case I have also made a mistake somewhere Laughing
_________________
GO 750 Live HD Traffic, Map Europe 930, Navcore 9.510
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DennisN
Tired Old Man
Tired Old Man


Joined: Feb 27, 2006
Posts: 14874
Location: Keynsham

PostPosted: Sat Aug 20, 2011 12:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Froggy wrote:
Reluctant to share changes in case I have also made a mistake somewhere Laughing

Go ahead, don't worry about it - remember, TomTom verify them all (and I don't download them). Laughing
_________________
Dennis

If it tastes good - it's fattening.

Two of them are obesiting!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mccririck
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Mar 21, 2010
Posts: 330
Location: Midlothian

PostPosted: Sun Aug 21, 2011 5:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The roundabout for the new Jim Bush housing on the B1361 at Prestonpans is in the new maps. That's the first thing I've noticed.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mccririck
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Mar 21, 2010
Posts: 330
Location: Midlothian

PostPosted: Sun Aug 21, 2011 7:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Still no roundabouts at Rosewell or the road that goes across from there to the A7. How long has that been operational now??? Bing maps is up to date...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
johnnym100
Regular Visitor


Joined: Apr 17, 2006
Posts: 87
Location: Hampshire/Surrey Border

PostPosted: Tue Aug 23, 2011 8:04 pm    Post subject: M4 J11 - Pah! Reply with quote

hazzamon wrote:
M4 Junction 11 has finally been amended to reflect the significant remodelling of the junction that has been fully active for over a year now.


Hazzmon - this got my hopes up...until I tried to use Map v875 on M4 J11 today.

Whilst more of the slip & filter roads are shown, approaching from the North (i.e. central Reading) is worse than in v870 and showed me in a field several times as well as telling me to turn right when doing so would only have put me in a filter lane to go back the way I came......

Back to the TeleAtlas website methinks......

John.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> TomTom Portable Navigation Devices All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Goto page Previous  1, 2
Page 2 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Powered by phpBB 2.0.11 © 2001 phpBB Group
phpBB port v2.1 based on Tom Nitzschner's phpbb2.0.6 upgraded to phpBB 2.0.4 standalone was developed and tested by:
ArtificialIntel, ChatServ, mikem,
sixonetonoffun and Paul Laudanski (aka Zhen-Xjell).

Version 2.1 by Nuke Cops 2003 http://www.nukecops.com

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
20.115 (30 Nov 22)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping