Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - 9.058 for x40 released
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

9.058 for x40 released
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, ... 19, 20, 21  Next
 
Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> TomTom Portable Navigation Devices
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
SpikeyMikey
Lifetime Member


Joined: Mar 21, 2006
Posts: 852
Location: Hertfordshire. Forever blowing bubbles

PostPosted: Fri Sep 17, 2010 10:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Live services started working after a short while into a journey.

Progress Smile
_________________
Mike
TT GO6000 (Europe); iPhone and iPad Pro with iOS TT GO & MyDrive + CamerAlert
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
robbooth
Lifetime Member


Joined: Jul 18, 2006
Posts: 162

PostPosted: Fri Sep 17, 2010 11:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm liking it so far! Very Happy and can't say I have noticed any difference in the screen sensitivity.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SpookyUK
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Sep 07, 2008
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Fri Sep 17, 2010 11:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

9.058 works fine on my 540 including Live services.

TomTom have updated the 1008 error page:
http://uk.support.tomtom.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/12359/?locale=en_GB
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
paulday
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Feb 28, 2006
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Fri Sep 17, 2010 1:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

All working fine here on a 940, can't notice any difference with the sensitivity of the screen, route calculation seems to be quite a bit quicker, and the new interface is a big improvement.

Was thinking of switching over to the Navigon 70 live premium but might just hold onto this for a while longer now.

And good to have the 'anywhere' option back on the address input too, was really missing this after having it on my 300 and 910.

Paul
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Guivre46
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Apr 14, 2010
Posts: 1262
Location: West London

PostPosted: Fri Sep 17, 2010 1:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sounds like TT have done this right. They get a good old kicking here, but do seem to issue things without comprehensive testing. 9.054 was bad, 9.058 appears to have addressed all the issues [FLW]. But suspect a great deal hangs on the 1000 and Via models as the competition seems to be catching up. In these circumstances 'customer loyalty' could be make or break.
_________________
Mike R [aka Wyvern46]
Go 530T - unsupported
Go550 Live [not renewed]
Kia In-dash Tomtom
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PaulB2005
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jan 04, 2006
Posts: 9323
Location: Durham, UK

PostPosted: Fri Sep 17, 2010 2:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Anyone else find their unit takes a couple of minutes to start even attempting to connect to the LIVE services? I.e the bar doesn't appear for the first 2 minutes after switching on?

Also does the unit now seem to favour 2D mode? Mine reverts to 2D when you switch on and even with the option to "Switch to 3D mode when following a route" selected it still doesn't switch automatically.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Matt865
Regular Visitor


Joined: Dec 30, 2006
Posts: 92

PostPosted: Fri Sep 17, 2010 2:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

PaulB2005 wrote:
Anyone else find their unit takes a couple of minutes to start even attempting to connect to the LIVE services? I.e the bar doesn't appear for the first 2 minutes after switching on?


Yes, that happens on my 740. Turned on at 14:27, it took until 14:29 for the traffic bar to appear at all and until 14:31 for it to load 374 incidents. Other live services don't work ("cannot connect, try later...") until the 14:29 point either.

Can't confirm the failure to switch to 3D, I haven't been out with it since the upgrade.

edit: I did just try in demo mode and it didn't automatically switch to 3D whilst navigating.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Graeme2812
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Mar 14, 2004
Posts: 297
Location: Dundee, Scotland UK

PostPosted: Fri Sep 17, 2010 2:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm liking the new UI. Especially the ability to disable the audible route guidance instructions, allowing the other warnings (traffic primarily) to remain audible. Quite possibly the most beneficial feature of this release for me TBH.

Route calculations appear to be 60%-70% quicker for me, not had a chance to test the re-routing when going off route occurs.

Screen sensitivity appears the same ONCE in the menu's, however tapping the main screen/map appears to require a more definitive touch than on previous versions for me. Strange. Perhaps deliberate to avoid accidental tapping of the screen when driving? Confused

GPS position acquisition - Not noticed any difference. Still a good signal, even indoors.
HD Traffic - Noticeable difference in the trafficbar loading. Takes around a minute to firstly appear once the device has booted, then a further couple of minutes to update. That said no problems with the data once it's loaded.
Fuel prices - Return a "An error occurred on the TomTom server. Please try again" and has done since i updated last night. No big loss.
Google search - As good as it's always been for me.
Weather - As per previous release, appears accurate enough
Don't use Buddies or TomTom Cameras so can't comment.

Credit where credit is due to TomTom. This looks like a worthwhile Navcore upgrade for me.

One new thing i did notice (perhaps I'm just being thick and haven't noticed it on previous versions) this new Navcore will now display delays predicted by IQ routes in the traffic bar (see Fig 1 & 2, route with no HD traffic delays) aswell as delays predicted with HD traffic AND IQ route IQ predicted delays (see Fig 3 & 4)


Fig1

Fig2

Fig3

Fig4
_________________
Graeme Bennett
Go 540 LIVE
App. 9.510.1234792.1 (2039,04/04/2013)
United Kingdom & ROI v945.6174


Last edited by Graeme2812 on Fri Sep 17, 2010 3:19 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
Larok
Regular Visitor


Joined: Dec 08, 2006
Posts: 79

PostPosted: Fri Sep 17, 2010 3:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Updated my 940 today, all well.

The interface is better and the functionality if not the same is better on all the features. HD traffic, MP3 FM broadcasting and PGPS camera's etc. The mapconfig file was accepted on transfer, which is nice. I didn't see any slowdown as others have reported above.

Despite this forums downer on TomTom at the moment, the device is great and better with this recent software release.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Andy_P
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jun 04, 2005
Posts: 19991
Location: West and Southwest London

PostPosted: Fri Sep 17, 2010 3:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Guivre46 wrote:
(TT) do seem to issue things without comprehensive testing.

As someone else here said recently... "You can lead a horse to water..."
The same could be said for *this* bucket of water.... Sad

PaulB2005 wrote:

Also does the unit now seem to favour 2D mode? Mine reverts to 2D when you switch on and even with the option to "Switch to 3D mode when following a route" selected it still doesn't switch automatically.


It's very oddly implemented and the option is badly worded, but it DOES seem to sort itself out.
With the option ticked, manually switch to 3D (you can quickly do that by tapping the centre section of the status bar now).

Now, unless you actually "Clear route" (or it clears it for you) the display should stay on 3D most of the time, and if it *does* go to 2D at the end of a journey, it should switch back to 3D as soon as you enter another route.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Andy_P
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jun 04, 2005
Posts: 19991
Location: West and Southwest London

PostPosted: Fri Sep 17, 2010 3:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Could someone who has downloaded this for the Gox40, please post the the FULL version information?

Go to the 'Status and information' menu, select 'Version information' and report what is on the SECOND line down (an App number and an OS number)
and also the THIRD line down (a four digit 'build' number and a date)

Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
paulday
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Feb 28, 2006
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Fri Sep 17, 2010 3:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

On a 940

App 9.058.568435.1
OS 541764
1030, 25/8/2010

Paul
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Graeme2812
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Mar 14, 2004
Posts: 297
Location: Dundee, Scotland UK

PostPosted: Fri Sep 17, 2010 3:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Go 540
App. 9.058.568435.1, OS 541764
(1030, 25/08/2010)
64MB RAM (11.5 Free)
GPS v1.20, Boot 5.5120
_________________
Graeme Bennett
Go 540 LIVE
App. 9.510.1234792.1 (2039,04/04/2013)
United Kingdom & ROI v945.6174
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
Gee-Pee
Lifetime Member


Joined: Feb 10, 2005
Posts: 1951
Location: Mostly somewhere in Essex

PostPosted: Fri Sep 17, 2010 3:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

PaulB2005 wrote:

Also does the unit now seem to favour 2D mode? Mine reverts to 2D when you switch on and even with the option to "Switch to 3D mode when following a route" selected it still doesn't switch automatically.


Mine does once a route is planned. Wink Alternatively, select 3D on map screen.
_________________
Gee-Pee
Lifetime member PGPSW - time rapidly decreasing
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Andy_P
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jun 04, 2005
Posts: 19991
Location: West and Southwest London

PostPosted: Fri Sep 17, 2010 4:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks Paul and Graeme for the version info.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> TomTom Portable Navigation Devices All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, ... 19, 20, 21  Next
Page 2 of 21

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Powered by phpBB 2.0.11 © 2001 phpBB Group
phpBB port v2.1 based on Tom Nitzschner's phpbb2.0.6 upgraded to phpBB 2.0.4 standalone was developed and tested by:
ArtificialIntel, ChatServ, mikem,
sixonetonoffun and Paul Laudanski (aka Zhen-Xjell).

Version 2.1 by Nuke Cops 2003 http://www.nukecops.com

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
20.114 (23 Nov 22)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping