Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - WARNING DO NOT INSTALL NEW NAVCORE9 ON GO940
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

WARNING DO NOT INSTALL NEW NAVCORE9 ON GO940

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> TomTom Portable Navigation Devices
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
MrT
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Nov 14, 2003
Posts: 2143
Location: Surrounded by A1, M1 & M25

PostPosted: Tue Jul 20, 2010 12:12 pm    Post subject: WARNING DO NOT INSTALL NEW NAVCORE9 ON GO940 Reply with quote

As per the other thread this update offered by Home stops the SIM from working.
_________________
Drivelux
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Andy_P
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jun 04, 2005
Posts: 19991
Location: West and Southwest London

PostPosted: Tue Jul 20, 2010 2:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
WARNING DO NOT INSTALL NEW NAVCORE9 ON GO940


... unless of course you have a good backup you can revert to! Smile

I can confirm you can roll back to v8 successfully.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Guivre46
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Apr 14, 2010
Posts: 1262
Location: West London

PostPosted: Tue Jul 20, 2010 3:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Why do they keep releasing these technological inadequacies? At the very least you'd think they could get their own staff to try prototype software in the real world before unleashing it Rolling Eyes
_________________
Mike R [aka Wyvern46]
Go 530T - unsupported
Go550 Live [not renewed]
Kia In-dash Tomtom
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Matt865
Regular Visitor


Joined: Dec 30, 2006
Posts: 92

PostPosted: Tue Jul 20, 2010 6:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'd pretend to be shocked but I'm way past the point of expecting competence from TomTom. Doesn't work on a 740 either. The SIM error is exactly the same as you get when you try to run a x50 navcore on a x40 device. I guess they're using their customers as beta testers to see if that navcore works without them putting in any effort to make it compatible with older devices.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AndyVaughan
Lifetime Member


Joined: Apr 13, 2006
Posts: 1500
Location: Rossendale

PostPosted: Tue Jul 20, 2010 7:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I haven't seen any mention of resets being performed by anyone - only reloading the application?

The only reason I mention this is that when Nav9 was released for the XL LIVE all my LIVE services stopped with loads of random errors.

Worth trying the following

Perform a reset to factory settings
Perform a power button reset - keep it held in until after the drum roll and the screen appears with the small text on it. Now briefly press the power button and the GO will power back on.
Perform another reset to factory settings
For good measure run clear flash a few times (3 is recommended)
Now another factory reset

Now set up with home location, username and password for LIVE etc. Make sure you do a navigate to... as this will prompt you to choose the country for the maps. Now get a satellite fix - Nav9 doesn't seem to like kickstarting the LIVE services into action until it has had a satellite fix.

Worth a try???
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MrT
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Nov 14, 2003
Posts: 2143
Location: Surrounded by A1, M1 & M25

PostPosted: Tue Jul 20, 2010 8:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Tried it all. It won't even let you get as far as trying to put your username and password in. The network screen shows and all the usual four lines of information comes up except it will not show connected, although from the interference it makes on my computer speakers, it sounds like it is talking.

I have used 950 navcores on the 940 before and did not have this issue, but did suffer from the battery flattening when off and if an error occured on live services it gave up rather than retrying.
_________________
Drivelux
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AndyVaughan
Lifetime Member


Joined: Apr 13, 2006
Posts: 1500
Location: Rossendale

PostPosted: Tue Jul 20, 2010 8:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Looks like it is a dodgy release then.

Why don't you install the 9.054 from the XL LIVE over the top manually and see what happens???

Available here

Bootlader in this is 5.5138 so won't upgrade 5.5260
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
stephenbeharrell
Lifetime Member


Joined: Nov 14, 2009
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Tue Jul 20, 2010 8:37 pm    Post subject: Yep me too Reply with quote

Just to confirm what others have found, the only solution is to revert to your backup. No amount of resets work - I thought TTs were supposed to save time!!!
I wait with interest on TTs customer service reply.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Covenant
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jan 19, 2007
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Tue Jul 20, 2010 11:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hey guys - just to confirm, I tried this update on my Go 540, and exactly the same thing happend (Sim card 1008 error).

Thought I'd add my tuppence Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RATOM
Regular Visitor


Joined: Aug 07, 2008
Posts: 61

PostPosted: Wed Jul 21, 2010 4:04 am    Post subject: Navcore 9 Reply with quote

Hi

Installed this new navcore and 740 is throwing 1008 error, when it comes to live services. Contacted Tomtom and after they made me try all possible solutions, the case has now been referred one level up.

Removed the new application from interal memory and reinstalled the back up with navcore 8 something but live services still will not work and give error 1008. Am I doing something wrong? please.

ratom
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RATOM
Regular Visitor


Joined: Aug 07, 2008
Posts: 61

PostPosted: Wed Jul 21, 2010 4:05 am    Post subject: Navcore 9 and error 1008 Reply with quote

Hi

Installed this new navcore and 740 is throwing 1008 error, when it comes to live services. Contacted Tomtom and after they made me try all possible solutions, the case has now been referred one level up.

Removed the new application from interal memory and reinstalled the back up with navcore 8 something but live services still will not work and give error 1008. Am I doing something wrong? please.

ratom
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
radville
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Mar 02, 2008
Posts: 28
Location: London

PostPosted: Wed Jul 21, 2010 8:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

What now? I'm so fed up with technology, it's one thing after another! I didn't see there was a problem before I downloaded. Please tell me what I should do. Will the error be fixed to run with this lovely new upgrade and should I leave it or should I revert to a backup? Now I'm not sure if I have ever backed up if I have I won't be able to do it till I go home to my pc and then how do I do it? My wife's going to go mad all I do is try and fix things that I was prompted to do in the first place, PLEASE HELP
D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Anita
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Mar 15, 2006
Posts: 3219
Location: Windlesham, Surrey

PostPosted: Wed Jul 21, 2010 11:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

radville wrote:
Now I'm not sure if I have ever backed up if I have I won't be able to do it till I go home to my pc and then how do I do it?D

Instructions for backing up can be found in the TomTom FAQs sticky at the beginning of the TomTom PNDs forum. It is advisable always to back up using this method before installing new software or maps.

It's also wise to check the forum before downloading "upgrades" from TomTom. Some of our users will post their findings, and warnings, pretty soon after the release, so you can make an informed decision whether to go ahead.
_________________
Anita
TomTom VIA 135 - App 12.075,
UK map 1095.11581
Samsung Galaxy S8
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> TomTom Portable Navigation Devices All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Powered by phpBB 2.0.11 © 2001 phpBB Group
phpBB port v2.1 based on Tom Nitzschner's phpbb2.0.6 upgraded to phpBB 2.0.4 standalone was developed and tested by:
ArtificialIntel, ChatServ, mikem,
sixonetonoffun and Paul Laudanski (aka Zhen-Xjell).

Version 2.1 by Nuke Cops 2003 http://www.nukecops.com

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
20.121 (07 Dec 22)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping