Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - Remote control problem
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

Remote control problem

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> TomTom Portable Navigation Devices
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
docdoc
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Sep 21, 2004
Posts: 56
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sat May 30, 2009 8:49 am    Post subject: Remote control problem Reply with quote

I've noticed a strange bug crop up intermittently. I have a 740 but don't know if anyone else has noticed it with other versions. It's happened with all versions of the software, even before I downloaded any updates.

If I put the TomTom in the mount before pressing a button on the remote to activate it, the TomTom won't pair with it. In fact, it won't pair again until I do a soft reset.

If I activate the remote before attaching the device to the mount, it works fine.

When I've had the bug I've tried going into options, switching bluetooth off then back on again but that didn't help.

Just wondered if anyone else had similar experiences. I can't be arsed to lodge a fault with tomtom yet - if I'm the only one I doubt they'll do anything about it. If anyone else has similar problems and wants to make it known to TomTom I'll do likewise.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MrT
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Nov 14, 2003
Posts: 2143
Location: Surrounded by A1, M1 & M25

PostPosted: Sat May 30, 2009 12:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If my 940 is in the mount and I press any button the remote, the LED on the remote goes blue and around 10 seconds later the 940 brings up a text box saying the remote is connected. It takes a bit longer than I expected.

I am not sure if it has always done this, but when I press the middle dimpled button it switches between 3D & 2D view, I certainly never noticed this before.

Also in case you were not aware, holding down the big centre button for several seconds brings up the voice activated menu, this was not in the instructions but a tip from this website.
_________________
Drivelux
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mikealder
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jan 14, 2005
Posts: 19638
Location: Blackpool , Lancs

PostPosted: Sun Aug 02, 2009 1:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The main central button in the middle of the four way selector ring on the remote activates Voice control when you push the button for a couple of seconds - Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> TomTom Portable Navigation Devices All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Powered by phpBB 2.0.11 © 2001 phpBB Group
phpBB port v2.1 based on Tom Nitzschner's phpbb2.0.6 upgraded to phpBB 2.0.4 standalone was developed and tested by:
ArtificialIntel, ChatServ, mikem,
sixonetonoffun and Paul Laudanski (aka Zhen-Xjell).

Version 2.1 by Nuke Cops 2003 http://www.nukecops.com

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
20.114 (23 Nov 22)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping