Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
Read the current newsletter! Weekly
Newsletter
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
MacFixer, the iPhone, iPod, and iPad specialists
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - Garmin splits Route into four sections?
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

Garmin splits Route into four sections?

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Garmin Handheld GPS Receivers
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
pjcactus
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jan 26, 2008
Posts: 30

PostPosted: Fri Aug 15, 2008 8:55 pm    Post subject: Garmin splits Route into four sections? Reply with quote

When longish Route having 330 Waypoints created in Memorymap then sent to Garmin 60CSx I see its shown as 4 Routes on Garmin - Route covers Waypoints 1 to 100, Route-1 covers WP 101 to 200 etc.
Thats no problem just wonder where the settings are that dictates it shall be split into four and could this be changed to just one - or 10 etc?
Anyone advise?
Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
missing_user



Joined: Aug 30, 2008
Posts: -7

PostPosted: Fri Aug 15, 2008 9:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

One Route using 330 of the 1000 available waypoints!? Confused
Have you tried constucting a track instead [10,000 track points and 20 tracks]?

Is it a car, cycle or pedestrian route/track?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pjcactus
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jan 26, 2008
Posts: 30

PostPosted: Fri Aug 15, 2008 9:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

strumble wrote:
One Route using 330 of the 1000 available waypoints!? Confused
Have you tried constucting a track instead [10,000 track points and 20 tracks]?

Is it a car, cycle or pedestrian route/track?


Yes its one Route of 330 waypoints...but its decided to break itself down to 4 sections on the Gramin - why/how?

It was a Route, converted to a Track and renumbered, then re-converted to a Route.

Pedestrian
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
missing_user



Joined: Aug 30, 2008
Posts: -7

PostPosted: Fri Aug 15, 2008 10:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Many others have tried to create comprehensive routes but I thought that there was a maximum of 50 vias.

Have you tried a comprehensive route like yours as I feel that if you do not go through each idividual waypoint you will get a problem of the unit returning/re-routing to each point.!

Try it with 10.
I have a problem with Maidstone to Strumble as it wants to go through Bracknell, so when I put in M4/M25 it wants to return.

If i put in a service area as a waypoint/via and miss it out, it keeps re-routing me.

So I think you will have problems PROVE ME WRONG

Construct a track and 'Trackback'

You can send that to others and Google earth.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mikealder
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jan 14, 2005
Posts: 19638
Location: Blackpool , Lancs

PostPosted: Fri Aug 15, 2008 10:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Everyone of us plans routes in different ways, for example I will use around 10 to 15 way points for a ten mile walk, I only save the decision points to the device, and safety points where alternate ways down a mountain can be handy if the conditions suddenly snap.

This offers a number of benefits to me, less clutter on the screen, a meaningful distance to go to next waypoint and less memory consumed on the device - the routes are also less time consuming to create in the first place.
Have a look at This Thread to see the difference in what I use compared to a track log converted to a route posted by others. Whilst its not Garmin it does serve to illustrate the difference quite well.

As I said at the start of this post, each to their own for the planning methods employed, but when walking do you really need hundreds of waypoints? (Unless you are walking the coast line of the UK or other considerable distance) - Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
pjcactus
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jan 26, 2008
Posts: 30

PostPosted: Sat Aug 16, 2008 11:12 am    Post subject: Re: Garmin splits Route into four sections? Reply with quote

pjcactus wrote:
When longish Route having 330 Waypoints created in Memorymap then sent to Garmin 60CSx I see its shown as 4 Routes on Garmin - Route covers Waypoints 1 to 100, Route-1 covers WP 101 to 200 etc.
Thats no problem just wonder where the settings are that dictates it shall be split into four and could this be changed to just one - or 10 etc?
Anyone advise?
Thanks


Any owners of Garmin 60 around who might know?
Cheers.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
missing_user



Joined: Aug 30, 2008
Posts: -7

PostPosted: Sat Aug 16, 2008 12:03 pm    Post subject: Re: Garmin splits Route into four sections? Reply with quote

pjcactus wrote:


Any owners of Garmin 60 around who might know?
Cheers.


I've just sold my 60CSX after 2 years and moved to the Colorado!
My comments are therefore based on 2 years of use.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Frabble
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Mar 09, 2007
Posts: 51

PostPosted: Sun Aug 17, 2008 10:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The route split is being done by Memory Map.
GPS, GPS Setup, GPS Limits - Waypoints per Route. Default seems to be 100.

For the Garmin 60CSx you're limited to 250 waypoints in a single Off Road route (if you transfer more the unit will drop the extra) so there is scope to change the setting.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ormesbyjohn
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Aug 17, 2008
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Sun Aug 17, 2008 2:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Frabble wrote:
The route split is being done by Memory Map.
GPS, GPS Setup, GPS Limits - Waypoints per Route. Default seems to be 100.

For the Garmin 60CSx you're limited to 250 waypoints in a single Off Road route (if you transfer more the unit will drop the extra) so there is scope to change the setting.


Excellent. TVM. Just the info I was after.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ormesbyjohn
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Aug 17, 2008
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Sun Aug 17, 2008 2:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

[quote="ormesbyjohn[/quote]

Anone know why the time shown for my last posting would show 11.07 whereas I posted it at 14.07?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
missing_user



Joined: Aug 30, 2008
Posts: -7

PostPosted: Sun Aug 17, 2008 2:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Go to 'Profile' and change the settings to GMT + 1.
Your post was at 14:07 on my screen Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pjcactus
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jan 26, 2008
Posts: 30

PostPosted: Sun Aug 17, 2008 3:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

strumble wrote:
Go to 'Profile' and change the settings to GMT + 1.
Your post was at 14:07 on my screen Very Happy


Thanks Strumble - that did it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Garmin Handheld GPS Receivers All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Powered by phpBB 2.0.11 © 2001 phpBB Group
phpBB port v2.1 based on Tom Nitzschner's phpbb2.0.6 upgraded to phpBB 2.0.4 standalone was developed and tested by:
ArtificialIntel, ChatServ, mikem,
sixonetonoffun and Paul Laudanski (aka Zhen-Xjell).

Version 2.1 by Nuke Cops 2003 http://www.nukecops.com

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
20.065 (29 Jun 22)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping