Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - New Maps have arrived - or have they?
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

New Maps have arrived - or have they?
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Garmin Portable Navigation Devices
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Nonny
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Oct 21, 2006
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Sun Feb 24, 2008 1:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The Update DVD has a 'Product Key' sticker on the back. Is it this code that you think I can only use once. If so, then how does the second unit know that I've already used it? I'll see what happens when I've updated the Nuvi 350!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
missing_user



Joined: Aug 30, 2008
Posts: -7

PostPosted: Sun Feb 24, 2008 2:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You must go online to Garmin and get:-



The unlock code will be unique to one unit.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
philpugh
Lifetime Member


Joined: Dec 28, 2005
Posts: 2003
Location: Antrobus, Cheshire

PostPosted: Mon Feb 25, 2008 5:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Not true - I didn't have to unlock my update DVD myself. I was asked for the product code on the rear of the DVD box and it went and installed the upgrade to my 660 without any other intervention. I assumed (and I know I shouldn't do that ) that it did any admin/unlock stuff over the network in the background. I will have to go and check now!

OK - checked. Yep - it did the unlock automatically. Go to MyGarmin on their website and you should be able to see the information (click the Mapsource Unlock link under your nuvi.) Of course if you haven't registered it then I don't know how you will know - but I bet you can't re-upgrade a different unit!
_________________
Phil
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Guffnuts
Occasional Visitor


Joined: May 08, 2007
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Tue Feb 26, 2008 5:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just a a couple of quick questions.

My 310 has UK/Ire v9 maps installed. When I receive the update DVD, am I able to update just the UK/Ire straight to the unit or will it have to go on a mem card?

If I can update just the unit, will it overwrite the old version?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tynecomp
Regular Visitor


Joined: Aug 11, 2006
Posts: 130

PostPosted: Wed Feb 27, 2008 12:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Guffnuts wrote:
My 310 has UK/Ire v9 maps installed. When I receive the update DVD, am I able to update just the UK/Ire straight to the unit or will it have to go on a mem card?

If I can update just the unit, will it overwrite the old version?

It will update the maps on the unit and overwrite what is currently installed. It would be a good idea to take a backup before doing the upgrade just in case.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PaulB2005
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jan 04, 2006
Posts: 9323
Location: Durham, UK

PostPosted: Wed Feb 27, 2008 12:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
It will update the maps on the unit and overwrite what is currently installed. It would be a good idea to take a backup before doing the upgrade just in case.


Very good advise. If you are not sure how please ask.

Alternatively you can buy a new card for the new maps and keep the old card safe. Up to you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Guffnuts
Occasional Visitor


Joined: May 08, 2007
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Wed Feb 27, 2008 8:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks, backup is done including the hidden file/s. Just waiting for this DVD now.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chastreo
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Mar 27, 2007
Posts: 42

PostPosted: Thu Feb 28, 2008 10:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Guffnuts wrote:
Thanks, backup is done including the hidden file/s. Just waiting for this DVD now.


Just over 2 weeks now since I ordered my DVD from Garmin.

Don't understand why it should take so long ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PaulB2005
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jan 04, 2006
Posts: 9323
Location: Durham, UK

PostPosted: Thu Feb 28, 2008 11:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
Just over 2 weeks now since I ordered my DVD from Garmin.

Don't understand why it should take so long ?


Last time it took nearly 6 months for me to get the v9 DVD. Even then it had someone elses address on it which was stamped " Return to Sender" and my address added with a sticker.

I guess they press a certain number of disks and are probably oversubscribed.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
philpugh
Lifetime Member


Joined: Dec 28, 2005
Posts: 2003
Location: Antrobus, Cheshire

PostPosted: Thu Feb 28, 2008 11:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

chastreo wrote:

Just over 2 weeks now since I ordered my DVD from Garmin.
Don't understand why it should take so long ?


If you are UK/Europe based then the procedure is to order it from one of GARMIN's authorised resellers. I think orders placed directly with Garmin will be shipped from US - which will delay things bit.

I ordered from www.globalpositioningsystems.co.uk and it arrived within 6 days (with a weekend included).
_________________
Phil
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Guffnuts
Occasional Visitor


Joined: May 08, 2007
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Thu Feb 28, 2008 3:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

philpugh wrote:

I ordered from www.globalpositioningsystems.co.uk and it arrived within 6 days (with a weekend included).


Costs around ~15 more too. Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
portman
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Nov 10, 2005
Posts: 435
Location: Dorset

PostPosted: Thu Feb 28, 2008 4:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've received my 2008NT update, ordered on the 8th Feb, I have the 310 deluxe(UK on device, the rest of Europe goes on SD card).
I put the disc in, you put in the product key(i guess it uses the internet connection at this stage), it then asked which region of Europe to install(7 or 8 regions). Called Garmin and they assured me that you would get the chance to put the rest of the maps on later on to a memory card.
Just done the install of UK/Ire and checked my computer. Sure enough there is now a program called 'MapInstall' where you can install the rest of the map tiles to a memory card just like map source, panic over!!!!
_________________
Samsung Mega
Tomtom 500


Last edited by portman on Fri Feb 29, 2008 12:01 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tynecomp
Regular Visitor


Joined: Aug 11, 2006
Posts: 130

PostPosted: Thu Feb 28, 2008 9:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

portman wrote:
Sure enough there is now a program called 'MapInstall' where you can install the rest of the map tiles to a memory card just like map source, panic over!!!!

Well spotted. I can confirm that I have now installed the rest of Europe to an SD card having initially updated the built in UK and Ireland maps.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Viper
Regular Visitor


Joined: Aug 30, 2004
Posts: 69

PostPosted: Sun Apr 20, 2008 2:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Does anyone know when the standalone nt city europe 2008 DVD version will be available to buy as I don't have a previous version?

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PaulB2005
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jan 04, 2006
Posts: 9323
Location: Durham, UK

PostPosted: Sun Apr 20, 2008 8:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Viper - what are you loading it one? You don't need a previous CD or DVD just a unit with the maps already loaded. if you know you do need the full DVD it's been on sale here a long time before the upgrade DVD was released.

Note it says

Quote:
Note: You cannot use this product to update the maps on your preloaded Garmin device. To order updated map data for your preloaded Garmin device.


You can also use that page to check the compatibility of the maps with your hardware.

However in the past when you upgrade the maps you don't need to apply the new maps over the old ones or show the upgrade process any previous maps. In fact most people buy a new card to install the upgrade to and use that. Before you buy anything tell us what hardware you have and what maps are currently installed.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Garmin Portable Navigation Devices All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7  Next
Page 6 of 7

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Powered by phpBB 2.0.11 © 2001 phpBB Group
phpBB port v2.1 based on Tom Nitzschner's phpbb2.0.6 upgraded to phpBB 2.0.4 standalone was developed and tested by:
ArtificialIntel, ChatServ, mikem,
sixonetonoffun and Paul Laudanski (aka Zhen-Xjell).

Version 2.1 by Nuke Cops 2003 http://www.nukecops.com

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
20.121 (07 Dec 22)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping