Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
MacFixer, the iPhone, iPod, and iPad specialists
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - TomTom One Third Edition
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

TomTom One Third Edition
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 5, 6, 7 ... 16, 17, 18  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> TomTom Portable Navigation Devices
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
deraj090
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Dec 05, 2007
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Fri Dec 07, 2007 12:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

thats SO weird, I dont have that on mine....is there a way to flash back to an older version? I have 7.130 I think
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mikeshe
Lifetime Member


Joined: Apr 03, 2004
Posts: 83
Location: Southampton

PostPosted: Fri Dec 07, 2007 12:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Andy_P2002 wrote:
Can you and mikeshe compare notes? Are you both on the same model and software version? 'cos this is getting REALLY confusing!

Apart from your issue, does everyone agree with this summary I've made from all the posts so far?

Quote:
Auto-off settings on different machines:

x20 series
Change preferences / Page 7 of 8 / Battery Saving Preferences / Choose never turn display off etc. and press Done / Then tick "switch off when external power is lost" on next screen

x10 series
Same but page 6 of 7?

One 3rd Edition
Change Preferences. / Page 4 of 5 / Brightness Preferences / Choose day and night brightness, press done / Choose never turn display off etc. and press Done / Then tick "switch off when external power is lost" on next screen

One XL
Change preferences / Page 3 of 7 / Battery saving preferences / Choose never turn display off etc. and press Done / Then tick "switch off when external power is lost" on next screen


What about the other models?


Right this one is mine:
Tomtom One Europe 3rd Edition
software version: 7.162

One 3rd Edition
Change Preferences. / Page 4 of 5 / Brightness Preferences / Choose day and night brightness, press done / Choose never turn display off etc. and press Done / Then tick "switch off when external power is lost" on next screen

The text you have written which is now showing red does not show up on this edition. After selecting wether to turn off display etc. and pressing Done you go back to page 4 of 5.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
deraj090
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Dec 05, 2007
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Fri Dec 07, 2007 1:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

for some reason i dont have that...
i the tomtom one 3rd edition U.S.
version 7.130

The red text you just highlighted doesnt show up at all. After i click "never turn off", and press Done, it goes back to page 4 of 5, nothing else...

Edit: I upgraded to version 7.162...didnt work. I still am missing this option. any suggestions?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Andy_P
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jun 04, 2005
Posts: 19991
Location: West and Southwest London

PostPosted: Fri Dec 07, 2007 1:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry, mikeshe. Did I misunderstand your post on the previous page?
You said:
Quote:
The One 3rd Edition only has 5 pages on Change Preferences. To find Battery Saving Preferences, first go to Page 4 then Brightness Preferences. You then choose day and night brightness, press done and you get the batttery options.


I took that to mean that's where you found the turn off when power is lost option.
So NO-ONE with a ONE 3rd Edition has it? That makes more sense at least.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kar98
Lifetime Member


Joined: Nov 25, 2004
Posts: 344
Location: DFW, Texas, USA

PostPosted: Fri Dec 07, 2007 2:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Andy_P2002 wrote:
...turn off when power is lost option.
So NO-ONE with a ONE 3rd Edition has it?


Wasn't on mine.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
deraj090
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Dec 05, 2007
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Fri Dec 07, 2007 3:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

damn...any hacks that can be done?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jspencer
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Dec 06, 2007
Posts: 30
Location: Brighton, MA, USA

PostPosted: Fri Dec 07, 2007 4:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I made the menu modifications noted in the first message in this thread and they worked just as advertised. TomTom just sent an Application update and I decided to run it without removing the menu changes, using Home2. The Application updated without a problem and when I removed the TomTom from the computer, it still had the menu changes and still had the itineraries I had entered previously. In other words, the update went without a hitch.

Jon
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
mikeshe
Lifetime Member


Joined: Apr 03, 2004
Posts: 83
Location: Southampton

PostPosted: Fri Dec 07, 2007 10:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Andy_P2002 wrote:
Sorry, mikeshe. Did I misunderstand your post on the previous page?

turn off when power is lost option.
So NO-ONE with a ONE 3rd Edition has it? That makes more sense at least.


This is NOT on the One 3rd Edition.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Andy_P
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jun 04, 2005
Posts: 19991
Location: West and Southwest London

PostPosted: Fri Dec 07, 2007 2:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I was also let astray by:
mikeshe wrote:
Thanks Mike. All working correctly now and backed up with Windows Explorer.

Presume now that you weren't talking about the auto switch off there?
This is often a problem when several issues are all being discussed in the same topic...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
deraj090
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Dec 05, 2007
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Fri Dec 07, 2007 11:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i decided to return the 3rd edition and go for a garmin nuvi 200. For an extra 50 bucks, I feel its an easier unit to use, and offers a little bit more.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zoom
Lifetime Member


Joined: Jun 01, 2006
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Tue Dec 11, 2007 12:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Mike, you're an absolute legend. I've just bought a TT Europe v3, its very good, just what I was lookoing for but felt robbed that they had dropped the itinerary planning as its a feature I absolutely use.
I was delighted to find your bit of 'magic' tonight and now have my itineraries all available on my new TT.
Massive thanks to you and your colleagues dedication - it really does make a difference to someone like me as its transformed a good unit into an excellent one. ta.

P.s. You wouldn't happen to know how you can get Internet radio on an ipod itouch Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Found_Out
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Dec 17, 2007
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Mon Dec 17, 2007 6:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hi folks,

new user on the forums. excellent utility and found a great amount of info here.

i got my father a tomtom v2 for christmas last year. i thought it was great and used it when he didn't need it. a few months ago i decided to get a satnav for myself and on the recommendation of a friend i went for the garmin nuvi 300t as it came with speed cams and traffic alerts, where the tomtom didn't.

i never use the traffic info, but the speed cams are great. now tomtom have the speed cams on the new v3, i want to sell my garmin and get the tomtom.

from reading this thread and few other bits of info, i'm kind of confused and put off the tomtom.

- do the speed cams come ready loaded on the v3?
- is the mapshare technology any use at all?

with my dads tomtom and my garmin, apart from plugging them in for a quick firmware check, i've never bothered downloading loads of stuff and updating them all the time. i pretty much just use it straight out of the box.

- if you're not bothered about editing the device and hacking it loads, but just want to use it for A to B journeys, speed cam alerts and the odd trip to london/manchester/liverpool (from birmingham) etc, is it a nice and useful tool?

from what i've read in this thread so far, v3 seems like a bit of a dog.

thanks in advance.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mikeshe
Lifetime Member


Joined: Apr 03, 2004
Posts: 83
Location: Southampton

PostPosted: Mon Dec 17, 2007 9:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The 3rd Edition isn't that bad, the problems I've had have originated from the TomTom Home causing problems Evil or Very Mad . Needless to say that is of utmost importance that the first thing you do is make a backup of the TT onto your computer using Explorer, NOT TT Home. At least then you can format the TT and re-install from your backup Very Happy

Tomtom speed cameras? Forget about them Confused . If you want better ones d/load the camera database from here for an annual fee of 19 and well worth it. Updated far more often than Tomtom and far more accurate Razz . I've been running the database from here and the TT one side by side and the number of cameras TT don't warn you about is not acceptable Crying or Very sad .

Not used mapshare as yet so can't comment.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Found_Out
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Dec 17, 2007
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Wed Dec 19, 2007 11:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

hey mike.

thanks for the reply, sounds a bit disappointing really. Is it even worth getting this thing?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Found_Out
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Dec 17, 2007
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Wed Dec 19, 2007 11:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

oh, one more thing. with the offers on at the moment, i was considering getting the tomtom one xl...

- would this be a better investment?

it just seems like it's been around for a while, so i'm guessing the maps might be a bit out of date etc. also, i've seen a few places referring to them as "discontinued" so i'm presuming they're going to be superceded pretty soon...

- is this the case?
- in addition, is there a new tomtom one coming out any time soon?
(i don't really want to go and buy a v3 if they're going to totally redesign it in the new year)...

thanks again.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> TomTom Portable Navigation Devices All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 5, 6, 7 ... 16, 17, 18  Next
Page 6 of 18

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Powered by phpBB 2.0.11 © 2001 phpBB Group
phpBB port v2.1 based on Tom Nitzschner's phpbb2.0.6 upgraded to phpBB 2.0.4 standalone was developed and tested by:
ArtificialIntel, ChatServ, mikem,
sixonetonoffun and Paul Laudanski (aka Zhen-Xjell).

Version 2.1 by Nuke Cops 2003 http://www.nukecops.com

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
20.115 (30 Nov 22)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping