Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
Read the current newsletter! Weekly
Newsletter
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - Fitting a PDA to sports bikes
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

Fitting a PDA to sports bikes
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Motorcycle GPS Users
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
NiteNurse
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Sep 27, 2005
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Thu Aug 03, 2006 11:51 pm    Post subject: Fitting a PDA to sports bikes Reply with quote

I thought I would show how I fit my IPAQ 5550 (with TOMTOM 5) to my Blackbird.

I also have a car so at first I used to take the suction mount and use that to fix my pda to the bikes screen.....big mistake...it 'unsuctioned' at 100mph whilst touring in France.

I searched the web for M/C mounts but found they fell into 2 categories

1) very expensive and usually for Garmin setups
2) Made to fit tubular handlebars.

I fitted the mount to the headstock using 2 wide cable ties and its as staedy and as secure as a rock (well it was last month in France again well into 3 figure speeds).

I also have a 'cigarette lighter' wired in to provide power to the pda / GPS reciever.

If it rains I just slip a polythene food bag with a press seal over the pda for when it's bucketing down.

[img][/img]





I hope this is usefull for anyone wishing to use a pda on a modern sports bike.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lbendlin
Pocket GPS Staff
Pocket GPS Staff


Joined: 02/11/2002 22:41:59
Posts: 11878
Location: Massachusetts, USA

PostPosted: Sat Aug 05, 2006 5:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nice work. Personally I would strongly advise against any form of PDA mount that is not of the "slide in from top" variety. The clam mounts are just not safe enough.

There are plenty of cheap active slide-in mounts available, from Brodit, Arkon, and Herbert Richter.
_________________
Lutz

Report Map Errors here:
TomTom/TeleAtlas NAVTEQ
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
feef
Occasional Visitor


Joined: May 09, 2006
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Tue Aug 22, 2006 12:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you don't need to 'use' the PDA and only view it when on the go, and you don't mind something a little more fidly, then I can recommend an "otterbox"

It's a waterproof case for PDA units, and with some modification and a RAM mount, you can fit it to most bikes. It means you can't use the touchscreen on the move, as you need to open the lid to access it, but it Does let you see the screen, and does mean it's waterproof.

a
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gpsn3wbie
Regular Visitor


Joined: Apr 05, 2006
Posts: 176

PostPosted: Tue Aug 22, 2006 12:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

feef wrote:
If you don't need to 'use' the PDA and only view it when on the go, and you don't mind something a little more fidly, then I can recommend an "otterbox"

It's a waterproof case for PDA units, and with some modification and a RAM mount, you can fit it to most bikes. It means you can't use the touchscreen on the move, as you need to open the lid to access it, but it Does let you see the screen, and does mean it's waterproof.

a


i thought the otterbox had a clear membrane on the lid which let you use the touchscreen through it?

maybe theres other models.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
feef
Occasional Visitor


Joined: May 09, 2006
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Tue Aug 22, 2006 2:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

gpsn3wbie wrote:
i thought the otterbox had a clear membrane on the lid which let you use the touchscreen through it?

maybe theres other models.


I've never had my hands on one.. I didn't fit my PDA to my bikes because

a: I'd been told the otterbox had a hard lid,
b: my PDA died and I buoght a Garmin Quest 2
c: I'm using my FJR more than my sportsbikes and i have a RAM mount for that

so my plans for the otterbox never materialised. If they have a membrane to allow usage, then I should have done something about the kit earlier :D

a
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lbendlin
Pocket GPS Staff
Pocket GPS Staff


Joined: 02/11/2002 22:41:59
Posts: 11878
Location: Massachusetts, USA

PostPosted: Tue Aug 22, 2006 9:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, they have membranes, and these work surprisingly well.
_________________
Lutz

Report Map Errors here:
TomTom/TeleAtlas NAVTEQ
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Darren
Pocket GPS Staff
Pocket GPS Staff


Joined: 11/07/2002 14:36:40
Posts: 23848
Location: Hampshire, UK

PostPosted: Tue Aug 22, 2006 9:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

gpsn3wbie wrote:
i thought the otterbox had a clear membrane on the lid which let you use the touchscreen through it?

They do, all the touch screen functions work fine through the membrane.
_________________
Darren Griffin - Editor
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Darren
Pocket GPS Staff
Pocket GPS Staff


Joined: 11/07/2002 14:36:40
Posts: 23848
Location: Hampshire, UK

PostPosted: Tue Aug 22, 2006 9:37 pm    Post subject: Re: Fitting a PDA to sports bikes Reply with quote

NiteNurse wrote:
I also have a 'cigarette lighter' wired in to provide power to the pda / GPS reciever.

Does that cigarette lighter socket have a waterproof 'bung'? Can I ask where you got it? I've been looking for such a fitting for my Pan for a while now!
_________________
Darren Griffin - Editor
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
pharmamike
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jun 24, 2005
Posts: 37
Location: North London

PostPosted: Wed Aug 23, 2006 2:23 pm    Post subject: Waterproof socket Reply with quote

You can get waterproof cigar lighter sockets from marine supply shops. Cost is from 15-20.

I have been meaning to put one on my Pan for quite a while, but have been making do with a non-waterproof one inside the left fairing pocket.

Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jjturner
Occasional Visitor


Joined: May 13, 2006
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sat Oct 21, 2006 10:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

feef wrote:
If you don't need to 'use' the PDA and only view it when on the go, and you don't mind something a little more fidly, then I can recommend an "otterbox"

It's a waterproof case for PDA units, and with some modification and a RAM mount, you can fit it to most bikes. It means you can't use the touchscreen on the move, as you need to open the lid to access it, but it Does let you see the screen, and does mean it's waterproof.

a

Ram also do there own version, an Aquabox, but you have to make sure your PDA fits as its quite tight (72mm internal width). If it works with yours, its quite good as it a lot cheaper and doesn't have the flip front of the otter, just a thicker rubber membrane.
I have mine mounted via the headstock using a standard RAM mount and an expanding Rawplug. It on a GSXR750 with an autocom in the tankbag, cables out the back of the box for sound and power (via a USB power unit).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ragamuffin
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jan 23, 2007
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Tue Jan 23, 2007 2:40 pm    Post subject: PDA on a motorbike Reply with quote

I run my satnav whilst on the bike solely using audio instructions rather than looking at the screen.. this way I can use a magnetic tank bag with all the gumf stuck in. The PDA just sites in the lcear waterproof pocket at the top. Cigarette lighter mounted on yoke. Works well but can be annoying having to pull pda out of clear pocket at top of tank bag just to change destination.. I have been looking at Navigons software as it has voice commands for destinations Smile.. maybe able to rig a microphone to pda and use solely on voice commands..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
biker01
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Mar 17, 2007
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sun Apr 15, 2007 4:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi
I have a Zire (Palm) with kirrio sat nav,no bluetooth connection
I have problems seeing the screen in sunlight?
Do you guys have the same problem?if so then why mount them on the front of the bike?
I have mine in my topbox with the reciver on the tank(i get interference from it to my Starcom unit if it is too close )
All works well for me most of the time ,but some instructions can be misleading if you cannot see the screen
So i would like to change the location if it was worth it.
Thanks
Biker
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
alix776
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: 03/05/2003 14:45:49
Posts: 3999
Location: leyland lancs ENGLAND

PostPosted: Sun Apr 15, 2007 6:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ram mounts have a bike mount that would work and also have a specfic holder for and otter box i have one on my mountain bike and i think it would work well on a motor bike
_________________
currently using aponia truck navigation on windows phone. Good bye IOS don't let the door hit you on the way out .

Oh the joys of being a courier.
device Lumia 950 xl
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
welshbiker
Occasional Visitor


Joined: May 08, 2007
Posts: 7
Location: Cardiff

PostPosted: Tue May 08, 2007 4:19 pm    Post subject: Re: Waterproof socket Reply with quote

pharmamike wrote:
You can get waterproof cigar lighter sockets from marine supply shops. Cost is from 15-20.

I have been meaning to put one on my Pan for quite a while, but have been making do with a non-waterproof one inside the left fairing pocket.

Mike


I picked one up on Ebay last week for 12, and a couple of quid postage, and there were quite a selection to choose from.

One question though - i'll need to wire in a fuse when i fit it later this week as it didn't come with one attached. Whilst i'm confident enough to wire the fuse into the circuit, i have no idea if it goes on the +ive or -ive side. Please could someone advise??!

Many thanks and best wishes,

Welsh Biker
_________________
"You can take the boy out of Wales,
but you cannot take Wales out of the boy!!"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pharmamike
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jun 24, 2005
Posts: 37
Location: North London

PostPosted: Wed May 09, 2007 1:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Assuming that your electrics are -ve earth, you put the fuse on the +ve side of the socket. Power needs to flow from battery through fuse to socket to device to earth (frame).

Hope that's clear.

Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Motorcycle GPS Users All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Powered by phpBB 2.0.11 © 2001 phpBB Group
phpBB port v2.1 based on Tom Nitzschner's phpbb2.0.6 upgraded to phpBB 2.0.4 standalone was developed and tested by:
ArtificialIntel, ChatServ, mikem,
sixonetonoffun and Paul Laudanski (aka Zhen-Xjell).

Version 2.1 by Nuke Cops 2003 http://www.nukecops.com

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
20.054 (25 May 22)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping