Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - Tom Tom and PIN 570 Help Please
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

Tom Tom and PIN 570 Help Please
Goto page Previous  1, 2
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> GPS Receivers
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
nuggo
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Dec 29, 2006
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Sun Jan 07, 2007 8:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

can anyone help, i;m tryin to instal tomtom 5 and really struggling. i've tried to follow all the above info but still not havin any joy with a signal! all the software is running but i just want to know when im configuring the GPS i set it as other NMEA GPS and then a GPS baud rate of 9600 but then what do i set on the next screen, i get the option of:
sc2410 usb cable
com3
s2410 irda2410
s2410 uart0
GPS on Navigator

which of these do i chose?

also i've installed winfast on the sd card but it wont run!?!

please help Embarassed
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gui_busa
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jan 07, 2007
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sun Jan 07, 2007 10:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok

I have TomTom working quite well on the PIN570 but i did find that the GPS worked better if you changed it using Winfast to NMEA, 4800, com8 and set the GPS to default settings.

Com8 = GPS on Navigator (when in pda mode)

You can check the NMEA settings on your device with Winfast

GGA 1
GLL 0
GSA 1
GSV 5
RMC 1
VTG 1
MSS 0
User 0
User 0
User 0

Please also remember to close Winfast down after using it as you will not be able to get a GPS signal for your navigation program if you dont.

Regards
Paul
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nuggo
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Dec 29, 2006
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Mon Jan 08, 2007 12:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

sorry to sound stupid but how do i run winfast? i've installed it onto the sd card, i even extracted it first on my desktop first, but the PDA just wont run it!

i'm i missing something or just being an idiot? Crying or Very sad
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Border_Collie
Pocket GPS Verifier
Pocket GPS Verifier


Joined: Feb 01, 2006
Posts: 2543
Location: Rainham, Kent. England.

PostPosted: Mon Jan 08, 2007 1:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Install Winfast on your PDA.
_________________
Formerly known as Lost_Property
And NO that's NOT me in the Avatar.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Border_Collie
Pocket GPS Verifier
Pocket GPS Verifier


Joined: Feb 01, 2006
Posts: 2543
Location: Rainham, Kent. England.

PostPosted: Mon Jan 08, 2007 1:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Install Winfast on your PDA.
_________________
Formerly known as Lost_Property
And NO that's NOT me in the Avatar.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
denosaur
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jan 11, 2007
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Thu Jan 11, 2007 9:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nuggo .Iknow this won't make you feel any better but I have TOTOM navigator 6 up and running using the info given in the rest of the forum eg.select other NMEA gps reciever and gps baud rate 9600 giving you
sc2410 usb cable
com3
s2410 irda2410
s2410 uart0
GPS on Navigator
If you touch GPS on navigator with the stylus it should return you to the GPS status screen ,touch Done and that bit is out of the way.Just a thought ,have you turned on the GPS setting on the navman ( follow Start -settings - system- Gps ) you get two choices on or off just press off then on and continue until the left hand light at the top starts to flash. Then you will get the message "waiting for a valid gps signal" when you return to TOMTOM , :D if you get this far go outside and see if the system picks up your location ,you need to have a clear view of the sky for it to work.It usually takes a minute or two and bingo away it goes. Having said all this I quite like the Smart ST system for navigating even though the TOMTOM is easier to use and has speed camera data with it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
psychocandy
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jan 24, 2007
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Wed Jan 24, 2007 4:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is there anyway to get the Pin to start the GPS automatically when you go into TOmTom?

SmartST seems to do this...

Otherwise, its just a pain to start GPS before TomTom (Not for me but explaining this to the Mrs !!!)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> GPS Receivers All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Goto page Previous  1, 2
Page 2 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Powered by phpBB 2.0.11 © 2001 phpBB Group
phpBB port v2.1 based on Tom Nitzschner's phpbb2.0.6 upgraded to phpBB 2.0.4 standalone was developed and tested by:
ArtificialIntel, ChatServ, mikem,
sixonetonoffun and Paul Laudanski (aka Zhen-Xjell).

Version 2.1 by Nuke Cops 2003 http://www.nukecops.com

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
20.114 (23 Nov 22)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping