Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
Read the current newsletter! Weekly
Newsletter
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
MacFixer, the iPhone, iPod, and iPad specialists
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - Very Slow Frame Rate On Destinator 6
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

Very Slow Frame Rate On Destinator 6

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Destinator
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
modelman
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Apr 27, 2006
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Sat Aug 19, 2006 11:41 am    Post subject: Very Slow Frame Rate On Destinator 6 Reply with quote

After running TT5 on my Dell Axim30 with no problems I installed Destinator 6 as well.
The software runs fine but the frame rate during navigation is terrible. The road I want to turn down finally catches up on the map about 2-3 seconds after Iíve reached the turning.
I installed all the maps and main program on to the SD card the same as TT5. This saves the PDAís memory for running the applications. The SD card is a high speed 10mb/s so I am mystified why it should be such a slow frame rate. (card formatted as FAT)
Is this a known issue on D6 and is there a fix? The software version is 6.0.0.24556 and map version Q1.4156.

Thanks in advanceÖ
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TheRock
Regular Visitor


Joined: Aug 24, 2005
Posts: 126

PostPosted: Sat Aug 19, 2006 2:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Are you using 3D?
Don't think, that anyone is using D6 in 3D succesfully.

You should try 2D, which works good.
_________________
D7
loox n500
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
modelman
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Apr 27, 2006
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Sat Aug 19, 2006 4:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the reply Rock,

Yes using 3d as thatís all I've ever used on the TT5. (I just like the 3d option)
I hadn't realized this was an issue in D6. Was this problem the same in other versions of PDA Destinator? Itís about time they got there act together as I'm not pleased that the software canít refresh in real time.
Maybe I'm being unfair as the version is relatively new and a patch might follow to fix this issue in the near future.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jimbo_hippo
Frequent Visitor


Joined: May 18, 2005
Posts: 444

PostPosted: Sat Sep 30, 2006 12:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

For what it's worth Mindows Mobile 5 seems to do it whatever you run. I run Destinator 6 on an SPV M5000 and have tried installing to the card and also to the device. Voice commands seem to come in on cue but the screen lags behind. I tried an old v5 of Tom Tom and it actually runs just as badly when it didnt under WM2003! So it seems the rule of thumb is don't run Desti 6 in 3D and don't buy WM5 !!!!

I'm gonna dig out my old (?) M2000 with WM2003 and see if D6 is the same in that. But only because I'm sad, have no friends and have nothing better to do! :-)
_________________
Tom Tom GO 720
Orange M3100, Orange SPV M5000
TomTom Navigator 6, Destinator 6
Holux GPSslim
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mcewena
Regular Visitor


Joined: Feb 21, 2005
Posts: 110
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Tue Oct 17, 2006 9:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

TheRock wrote:
Are you using 3D?
Don't think, that anyone is using D6 in 3D succesfully.

You should try 2D, which works good.


It works for me (Asus 636) but is noticably choppy and not nearly as pretty as some other brands so I switched back fairly quickly.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
john_robot
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Mar 20, 2006
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sun Nov 05, 2006 1:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

in destinator.ini :

protocol = 2

try changing this value
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TheRock
Regular Visitor


Joined: Aug 24, 2005
Posts: 126

PostPosted: Sun Nov 05, 2006 8:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

john_robot wrote:
in destinator.ini :

protocol = 2

try changing this value


This toggles the NMEA-SIRF switch out of the gps-settings.
What improvement could be expected with which value?
_________________
D7
loox n500
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Destinator All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Powered by phpBB 2.0.11 © 2001 phpBB Group
phpBB port v2.1 based on Tom Nitzschner's phpbb2.0.6 upgraded to phpBB 2.0.4 standalone was developed and tested by:
ArtificialIntel, ChatServ, mikem,
sixonetonoffun and Paul Laudanski (aka Zhen-Xjell).

Version 2.1 by Nuke Cops © 2003 http://www.nukecops.com

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
20.054 (25 May 22)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







© Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping