Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - Speed-Based Icons for CP6
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

Speed-Based Icons for CP6
Goto page Previous  1, 2
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> CoPilot Live
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
iankb
Frequent Visitor


Joined: May 09, 2005
Posts: 283
Location: Reading, UK

PostPosted: Mon Aug 28, 2006 5:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Not really. The only option would be to bring up the old camera warning screen, but that is far worse than the new alerts, since it obscures the screen, and holds back turn instructions, for 30 seconds.
_________________
Ian

iPaq 2210
Globalsat BT-338
Seidio G2500 Amplified Vent Mount
CoPilot 6, GPS Tuner 4.2, Navio 3.01
BMW 330ci Sport
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
iankb
Frequent Visitor


Joined: May 09, 2005
Posts: 283
Location: Reading, UK

PostPosted: Mon Aug 28, 2006 5:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Since the audible voice warning is always a WAV file, even if TTS has been selected, I suppose it must be possible to find the related file, and delete it. There is an Ogg Vorbis file called safetycam.ogg, so that is probably the file to remove. I've no idea what effect that will have, so I would back it up, just in case.
_________________
Ian

iPaq 2210
Globalsat BT-338
Seidio G2500 Amplified Vent Mount
CoPilot 6, GPS Tuner 4.2, Navio 3.01
BMW 330ci Sport
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nivek22
Lifetime Member


Joined: Mar 09, 2006
Posts: 194
Location: Barnsley, South Yorkshire.

PostPosted: Thu Aug 31, 2006 4:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just a quick thanks to iankb for the icons Thumbs Up

Prior to this camera download i wasn't seeing the camera icons in planning mode.

I still don't see them in planning mode but they do appear in demo mode and while driving - so no problem.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
iankb
Frequent Visitor


Joined: May 09, 2005
Posts: 283
Location: Reading, UK

PostPosted: Thu Aug 31, 2006 5:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

nivek22 wrote:
I still don't see them in planning mode but they do appear in demo mode and while driving - so no problem.

That's an interesting option. Planning a route to avoid the cameras. Smile

However, the presence of cameras with known speed limits does give an indication of the speed that the stretch of road is actually capable of, and is maybe a potential aid to a navigation package in calculating the quickest route. i.e. An A-class road with cameras is probably a faster road than an A-class road without, or they wouldn't have put the cameras where they did.
_________________
Ian

iPaq 2210
Globalsat BT-338
Seidio G2500 Amplified Vent Mount
CoPilot 6, GPS Tuner 4.2, Navio 3.01
BMW 330ci Sport
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DrRobin
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Apr 25, 2006
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Tue Oct 03, 2006 11:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

I have loaded in the new cameras by type (safetycamera_*.*) and added icons. They are in there but I can't see them on the screen although the alert pops up and I can search for them by POI. If I load them in again with a different name (speed*.*) then they appear on the map, but appear twice.

I am running the latest version and have cleared out the ao*.* files first. Can anyone help?

DrRobin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nivek22
Lifetime Member


Joined: Mar 09, 2006
Posts: 194
Location: Barnsley, South Yorkshire.

PostPosted: Tue Oct 03, 2006 12:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This sounds like the issue that I have with the 'Safetycamera_*.*' icons.

I've now noticed that they're only visible when moving faster than 5 mph. Although they do show when running the demo.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
iankb
Frequent Visitor


Joined: May 09, 2005
Posts: 283
Location: Reading, UK

PostPosted: Tue Oct 03, 2006 2:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The camera icons as provided by this forum are created for TomTom, and have too many colours for CoPilot. I created some 8-bit colour icons which work fine, but you could always ask the forum administrators to include CoPilot-compatible icons within the CoPilot downloads. They are welcome to include my icons if they want, although they are designed to maximise the display of the speed, rather than some representation of a camera. See my avatar for examples.
_________________
Ian

iPaq 2210
Globalsat BT-338
Seidio G2500 Amplified Vent Mount
CoPilot 6, GPS Tuner 4.2, Navio 3.01
BMW 330ci Sport
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DrRobin
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Apr 25, 2006
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Tue Oct 03, 2006 11:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nivik, Ian,

Thanks for the replies. My Copilot does work correctly in Demo mode and now I only have one copy of the camera db installed I will try it tomorrow to see if it works when doing more than 5 MPH.

Would be nice if ALK fixes the problems/issues with the pop up alert, but I am really pleased with the software so can't complain.

Cheers

DrRobin
:D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
iankb
Frequent Visitor


Joined: May 09, 2005
Posts: 283
Location: Reading, UK

PostPosted: Wed Oct 04, 2006 2:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

iankb wrote:
I created some 8-bit colour icons which work fine ...

Correction: They are 4-bit (i.e. 16-colour) bitmaps.
_________________
Ian

iPaq 2210
Globalsat BT-338
Seidio G2500 Amplified Vent Mount
CoPilot 6, GPS Tuner 4.2, Navio 3.01
BMW 330ci Sport
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DrRobin
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Apr 25, 2006
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Mon Oct 09, 2006 3:26 pm    Post subject: Safety Camera Icons not showing up. Reply with quote

Thanks Ian,

I have 16 colour bitmaps and the latest patch 6.0.1.68. I have just re-loaded everything as my memory card failed. I get the icons in demo mode and if I search for them as a POI, but whilst I get the new style safety camera alert, I never see the icon on the screen.

Other POI's I have loaded show up fine, both on planning and on 3D. Can anyone help?

TIA

DrRobin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DrRobin
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Apr 25, 2006
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Mon Oct 09, 2006 3:47 pm    Post subject: Safety Cams & Icons Reply with quote

I have noticed that the only time I can see the camera on the screen including planing is when it is co-located with another POI, in which case the multi icon appears. If you double click then it gives the camera details.

If I load the camera db in again with a different name then I see them all but with the multi-icon displayed as there is two camera in the same place.

I not sure if this helps?

DrRobin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DrRobin
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Apr 25, 2006
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Mon Oct 09, 2006 9:51 pm    Post subject: Safety Cameras Reply with quote

Hi All,

I have removed all POIs again and this time loaded the safety cameras as speedc*.*. I have show POIs enabled and the new safety camera alert enabled.

Now what happens is that I see the safety camera icons on the screen in all screens, stationary, driving and planning.

When I approach a safety camera I get an spoken warning and when just about on top of it a sound but I don't get the little yellow pop up screen.

I am quite happy to dispense with the little yellow pop up alert screen as in its present form it offers little and it is much better to see the icons.

I assume there is something in the ov2 file which tells Copilot that the file is a safety camera.

Enjoy

DrRobin
:D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
iankb
Frequent Visitor


Joined: May 09, 2005
Posts: 283
Location: Reading, UK

PostPosted: Mon Oct 09, 2006 10:00 pm    Post subject: Re: Safety Cameras Reply with quote

DrRobin wrote:
I assume there is something in the ov2 file which tells Copilot that the file is a safety camera.

Nothing in the file. Simply the fact that the filename begins with 'safetycam'.
_________________
Ian

iPaq 2210
Globalsat BT-338
Seidio G2500 Amplified Vent Mount
CoPilot 6, GPS Tuner 4.2, Navio 3.01
BMW 330ci Sport
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fluffball
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jan 15, 2007
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Fri Apr 20, 2007 4:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I do not see safety camera icons in planning mode either (using safetycamera... naming). Contacted ALK who gave me some more camera bitmaps to try but that didn't solve anything. They seemed surprised.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> CoPilot Live All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Goto page Previous  1, 2
Page 2 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
22.042 (10 Apr 24)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping