Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
MacFixer, the iPhone, iPod, and iPad specialists
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - BT GPS with Dell X51v (WM5)
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

BT GPS with Dell X51v (WM5)

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Memory-Map
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
kevwright
Occasional Visitor


Joined: 21/08/2003 20:57:49
Posts: 27
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Thu Mar 16, 2006 1:30 pm    Post subject: BT GPS with Dell X51v (WM5) Reply with quote

Hi all,

Just got the dell, and it only allows me to set COM 7 or COM 8, and I can not get MM to allow me to set either of those, only choices are COM 1 through to BT UART on Com 5, none of those work of course.

Is this still a Tomtom hogging port issue, I thought by setting COM 7 as a hardware port in WM 5 was supposed to solve that?

Anyone know if it is possible to get MM PPC version to allow selection of COM 7 or 8?

Cheers

Kev
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MrT
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Nov 14, 2003
Posts: 2143
Location: Surrounded by A1, M1 & M25

PostPosted: Sat Mar 18, 2006 6:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

My memory map is running on COM8. In the Menu-GPS-Setup, a pull down box will show all of the COM ports available on your PPC. If you cannot see a port, it will be because the PPC is telling Memory Map that the port is not available.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kevwright
Occasional Visitor


Joined: 21/08/2003 20:57:49
Posts: 27
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Sun Mar 19, 2006 12:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks, any idea how I make the PPC tell MM that there is a port 7 or 8?


Kev
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
richardstephens
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Mar 21, 2006
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Tue Mar 21, 2006 2:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

> any idea how I make the PPC tell MM that there is a port 7 or 8?

Memory-Map lists all ports (1-9) since version 4.4.0.

If you are a UK customer stuck with an older version, what you need to do is create a registry entry for the com port:
[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Drivers\Active\999]
"Name" = "COM8:"

However, this part of the registry is rebuilt by the system, so you may need to set it up each time you reset the device...

Richard
Memory-Map, Inc.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Memory-Map All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Powered by phpBB 2.0.11 © 2001 phpBB Group
phpBB port v2.1 based on Tom Nitzschner's phpbb2.0.6 upgraded to phpBB 2.0.4 standalone was developed and tested by:
ArtificialIntel, ChatServ, mikem,
sixonetonoffun and Paul Laudanski (aka Zhen-Xjell).

Version 2.1 by Nuke Cops 2003 http://www.nukecops.com

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
20.115 (30 Nov 22)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping