Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
SurfShark VPN for Streaming TV
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - Effective Re-Routing
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

Effective Re-Routing

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> TomTom Portable Navigation Devices
View previous topic :: View next topic  
newbie2gps
Occasional Visitor

PostPosted: Sat Nov 12, 2005 12:39 pm    Post subject: Effective Re-Routing Reply with quote

last week I was on a long journey, part of it for my sins involved travelling along the M6 from J1 to J26.... en route the TTG300 I have gave a single instruction really, along the M6 for xx miles....

En route i did a traffic master call on 1740 as the M6 is bad where i live, it told me there was 15 miles tailback between J19 and J25, which obviously I wanted to avoid.

I instantly did a find alternative route, which took me some horrible route that I didnt really want to take, my ideal would have been to come off at J18 (immediately before the accident) and go 'off-road' to loop round it and get home....

However there was no easy way to do this, ideally what i'd have liked to see is in the route plan, a section for each Junction/segment of the motorway (though on a long route this can get unwieldy) so I could simply pre-plan to skip J19-25, and then TTG find me the best route using as much motorway as possible....

is there a better way of doing this than i found? eventually i came off at 17, went off road for a while, found my recalculated route there was a road closed, so had to detour again

it was good fun, but i dont wanna do that too often - the simpler the better for me!
Unplugged
Regular Visitor

PostPosted: Sat Nov 12, 2005 7:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote