Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
Read the current newsletter! Weekly
Newsletter
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - TomTom Start 20 series - too good for first-time buyers?
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

TomTom Start 20 series - too good for first-time buyers?
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> TomTom Portable Navigation Devices
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Darren
Pocket GPS Staff
Pocket GPS Staff


Joined: 11/07/2002 14:36:40
Posts: 23848
Location: Hampshire, UK

PostPosted: Sat May 14, 2011 1:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I thought LIVE versions were VIA?
_________________
Darren Griffin - Editor
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
MaFt
Pocket GPS Staff
Pocket GPS Staff


Joined: Aug 31, 2005
Posts: 14627
Location: Bradford, West Yorkshire

PostPosted: Sat May 14, 2011 2:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Andy_P wrote:
I suspect there may be LIVE versions planned, but maybe we won't get hose in the UK, as TT seem keen to produce confusingly different ranges in different markets these days.


add LIVE to the Start 25 and you have the VIA Live 5" version... i.e. we already have it! (as mentioned in my post above)

MaFt
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Andy_P
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jun 04, 2005
Posts: 19991
Location: West and Southwest London

PostPosted: Sat May 14, 2011 6:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

My bad.... Sometimes it gets confusing trying to work out what you've got ..... and what it eventually becomes. Wink
_________________
"Settling in nicely" ;-)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
WillRansom
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Oct 10, 2006
Posts: 7
Location: Ashford, Kent, England

PostPosted: Fri May 20, 2011 9:10 am    Post subject: Hoggy wrote... Here in France, you can't use Postcodes and Reply with quote

I have been happily using French Postcodes ever since I upgraded from v5 to v6 in 2006/7 (I'm a real dinosaur as I'm still using such old software on an IPAQ H2210) and I have never had a problem with it. I'm too stupid to have installed anything fancy so it must be available as standard. Good luck HOGGY. Surprised
_________________
WillR
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mistersaxon
Occasional Visitor


Joined: 25/01/2003 17:12:06
Posts: 32
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Fri May 20, 2011 9:55 am    Post subject: PITA? Reply with quote

MaFt wrote:
Looks, to me ,in both design and functionality to be the Via Live but without the Live. I like the VIA live (though the current POI install is a PITA) - it's a good unit.

MaFt


Why is this so difficult? I would like to upgrade my TomTom from the WinMo-compatible V7 but I understand that the iPhone version (for example) can't / won't take my POI database which has all my customer locations in it. But I think you're saying these units can, even if they don't want to?

Oh yes, I have a few speed cam ov2's as well Smile I'd quite like to keep using them as well!
_________________
<br>
Rich.
Kit: TomTom iPhone WEurope on iPhone6s+ / iPad Pro
w/ Interphone BT headset on a Honda Blackbird (should change this really - the bike, not the headset)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Darren
Pocket GPS Staff
Pocket GPS Staff


Joined: 11/07/2002 14:36:40
Posts: 23848
Location: Hampshire, UK

PostPosted: Fri May 20, 2011 11:14 am    Post subject: Re: PITA? Reply with quote

mistersaxon wrote:
But I think you're saying these units can, even if they don't want to?

Not exactly. The first devices to use the NAV3 software (GO 1000, GO 1005) were launched with no third party bulk POI support at all.

It has recently been added but requires you to select and upload every file individually. As you can imagine, with some POI sets such as our camera data it can take quite a while.

Also, there is, as yet, still no custom alert support.

But third party POIs are supported, it's just rather clunky at the moment.
_________________
Darren Griffin - Editor
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
mistersaxon
Occasional Visitor


Joined: 25/01/2003 17:12:06
Posts: 32
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Fri May 20, 2011 11:28 am    Post subject: Ah, I see! Reply with quote

Or rather I see it can be done but not why TomTom thought it was a good idea to leave this out in the initial releases - or leave it out on the iPhone.

Anyway, thanks for clearing that up - it's tedious, not a hack Smile
_________________
<br>
Rich.
Kit: TomTom iPhone WEurope on iPhone6s+ / iPad Pro
w/ Interphone BT headset on a Honda Blackbird (should change this really - the bike, not the headset)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Darren
Pocket GPS Staff
Pocket GPS Staff


Joined: 11/07/2002 14:36:40
Posts: 23848
Location: Hampshire, UK

PostPosted: Fri May 20, 2011 11:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Why they left it out initially has been discussed at length, TomTom blame delays and issues with software forced it be omitted at launch.

But the iPhone isn't entirely their fault. As it's a closed system there hasn't been a really user-freindly method to enable support (although other apps have resolved it). But I hear that this omission is being looked at by Apple and so we can hope that, if Apple enable it properly, TomTom will add support.
_________________
Darren Griffin - Editor
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
MadBaz
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jun 23, 2006
Posts: 13
Location: Kent

PostPosted: Fri May 20, 2011 11:45 am    Post subject: TomTom Start 20 range Reply with quote

Will the Start 25 support the CamerAlert Database?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SlimboyFat
Lifetime Member


Joined: Jan 27, 2004
Posts: 58

PostPosted: Fri May 20, 2011 8:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Slightly off topic but many peeps are mentioning Nav 3s "Lost" features.

Is the Shortest, Quickest, Avoid Motorways options still missing?

And can you "Navigate To - Custom POI - Along Route"?

TIA
SBF
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Rogerfrit
Regular Visitor


Joined: Dec 17, 2003
Posts: 141
Location: North Devon - England

PostPosted: Fri May 27, 2011 5:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
But third party POIs are supported, it's just rather clunky at the moment.

Darren
I wonder if you could elaborate on this a little.
I have a handful of custom POI categories, each with well over 500 POIs, that I would need to transfer to this new device.
How much of a fag will it be?
Thanks
Roger
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Darren
Pocket GPS Staff
Pocket GPS Staff


Joined: 11/07/2002 14:36:40
Posts: 23848
Location: Hampshire, UK

PostPosted: Fri May 27, 2011 8:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you search the forum you will see it has been discussed in depth. Is that 500 POIs in a single group or 500 POI groups?

I'm guessing the former, and if so, pretty easy. But for our speed cameras, we can have 20 or more groups and that is time consuming to install.

The process has been improved lately but I have yet to try it.
_________________
Darren Griffin - Editor
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Andy_P
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jun 04, 2005
Posts: 19991
Location: West and Southwest London

PostPosted: Fri May 27, 2011 9:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

For the improved system, see my post about the "Content Transfer Assistant" here. Smile
_________________
"Settling in nicely" ;-)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jeta1
Regular Visitor


Joined: Nov 07, 2004
Posts: 141
Location: Stockport

PostPosted: Sat Jun 04, 2011 10:47 am    Post subject: mounting .... Reply with quote

For various reasons my mounting of choice now is a 'bean bag' type mount.

Would the Start 20 series mount work with the bean bag? the surface where the suction cup mounts on the bean bag is slightly recessed, can the geometry of the Start 20 mount work with this?

Ta
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
leehazzo
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Feb 26, 2008
Posts: 51

PostPosted: Fri Aug 12, 2011 11:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

Could someone please confirm if the Start 20 will allow you to input Longitude and lattitude cordinates?

Also can I use the PGPSW database on the unit?

Thinking of buying one tomorrow

Thanks in advance

Lee
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> TomTom Portable Navigation Devices All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Page 2 of 4

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Powered by phpBB 2.0.11 © 2001 phpBB Group
phpBB port v2.1 based on Tom Nitzschner's phpbb2.0.6 upgraded to phpBB 2.0.4 standalone was developed and tested by:
ArtificialIntel, ChatServ, mikem,
sixonetonoffun and Paul Laudanski (aka Zhen-Xjell).

Version 2.1 by Nuke Cops 2003 http://www.nukecops.com

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
19.063 (16 Jun 21)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping