Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - Tomtom Version 3 and Ipaq 3970 and 3950
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

Tomtom Version 3 and Ipaq 3970 and 3950

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> TomTom Software-Only Products
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
spewy
Occasional Visitor


Joined: 21/05/2003 23:13:02
Posts: 9
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Mon Jun 28, 2004 6:34 pm    Post subject: Tomtom Version 3 and Ipaq 3970 and 3950 Reply with quote

Sorry if this subject has already been covered. I've searched through the threads and found similar probs with the 2210 but not exactly.

We are currently testing TT3 with the 3950 and the 3970. In both cases we are findng with the latest release that if you turn off the ipaq without exiting the programme correctly and while locked onto a satelite the application freezes or becomes unuseable. The only way to correct the situation is to try and exit Navigator or peform a soft reset, usually being the latter. At present we have solved the problem by rolling back the GPS driver to version 2.08. The ipaqs are running pocket PC 2002 with the latest Rom versions and all Rom patches and updates installed. This is also not an SD card issue.

Has anyone else had similar problems and have you found any other solutions to the problem. We will be sending a unit with the problem direct to TomTom for testing and will post the results. To date this problem has occured on every ipaq 3950 and 3970 we have installed TT3 on. Although we are dealing with TomTom direct they are in effect denying there is a problem hence why we are sending the unit back complete with the problem installed. Sorry if this subject has already been covered but I'd really appreciate any views, solutions etc on this.

Thanks for your help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
spile
Regular Visitor


Joined: May 08, 2004
Posts: 163

PostPosted: Mon Jun 28, 2004 8:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sadly yes.

This has been discussed previously and sadly version 3.03 isn't any better Sad

It basically means that you cannot trust TT3 to commence navigation if a route has been planned away from the car, which presumably is how many of us use a route planner!

As you have found out, the only way out is to quite TT3 before turning off.
I did use the itinerary feature the other day and this seemed to survive being turned off. Not tested this in detail however.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MrT
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Nov 14, 2003
Posts: 2143
Location: Surrounded by A1, M1 & M25

PostPosted: Tue Jun 29, 2004 9:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

bl wrote:
It basically means that you cannot trust TT3 to commence navigation if a route has been planned away from the car, which presumably is how many of us use a route planner!


I cannot see why you cannot do this. Plan your route, exit TomTom, turn your PDA off. In your car, turn your PDA on, start TomTom and your route is still there.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Grahamcol
Occasional Visitor


Joined: 18/08/2003 09:33:49
Posts: 45
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Tue Jun 29, 2004 12:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have the same problem with the 3950.

The answer I have found is to quit the application as you indicate.

I would like to try the 2.08 driver. Where can I get it from?

Graham
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tim Buxton
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: 14/09/2002 20:56:18
Posts: 5231
Location: Surrey, United Kingdom

PostPosted: Tue Jun 29, 2004 12:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grahamcol wrote:
I would like to try the 2.08 driver. Where can I get it from?


Just here.
_________________
Tim
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
gokhart
Regular Visitor


Joined: Jun 17, 2004
Posts: 112
Location: London

PostPosted: Tue Jun 29, 2004 12:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

how do you know which version of driver you have ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Privateer
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: 30/12/2002 17:36:20
Posts: 4903
Location: Oxfordshire, England, UK

PostPosted: Tue Jun 29, 2004 12:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Gokhart,

Tap the Navigator screen, to get the Navigator Menu. Tap “More” until you get the icon for GPS Status. Tap GPS Status, then tap the tab “GPS”.

You will see a picture of the world map and in the bottom left hand corner (under Australia) you will see the version and build numbers. Thumbs Up

Regards,
_________________
Robert.
iPhone 6s Plus, iOS 14.0.1: iOS CamerAlert v2.0.7
TomTom GO Mobile iOS 2.3.1; TomTom (UK & ROI and Europe) iOS apps v1.29
Garmin Camper 770 LMT-D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> TomTom Software-Only Products All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
21.014 (25 Jan 23)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







© Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping