Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
Read the current newsletter! Weekly
Newsletter
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - First week living with the 1000
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

First week living with the 1000
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> TomTom Portable Navigation Devices
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
mow
Regular Visitor


Joined: Mar 09, 2005
Posts: 112
Location: Essex

PostPosted: Wed Oct 13, 2010 8:09 am    Post subject: First week living with the 1000 Reply with quote

I have now had the opportunity to evaluate the new Tom Tom 1000 and here are a few initial observations.

Firstly the looks and feels good. Slim and good looking with the glass screen and brushed back panel. But I wonít dwell on this as most will have seen many pictures of the new unit.

Connection to the new ďMy Tom TomĒ is proving to be troublesome, with the unit itself showing a connection to a computer but the web site showing ďunit not connectedĒ. Having queried this with the Company I understand they are having troubles with the new ďHomeĒ and that my unit was actually connected although the message showed otherwise. As you know there is very little functionality on My Tom Tom at the moment but I understand this is being addressed. I am somewhat amazed that this was left this late in the day to at least complete it to a stage of being able to log in !

I personally think the new revised menu system is excellent. Relevant icons dependant on the action you are taking makes trawling through pages of menu a thing of the past, and the ďmake your own menu function gives you the opportunity to have your own shortcuts on the main map screen.

I like the new touch screen, far more responsive than the old units, especially for entering numbers. You can ďover tapĒ or ďdouble tapĒ and move through menus by mistake but you do get used to the responsiveness. A slider lets you zoon in when in GPS map view, but when just viewing the map you can zoom using finger movements as an I Phone.

Some good news. Reflection. With the unit off you think youíre going to be in trouble with a mirror like image facing you, but turn the unit on and the screen is bright and clear. Yes there is still some reflection, but the brightness of the screen seems to overcome this. I tested it in bright sunshine, had to move the unit slightly from front on, but from then on had no problem at all. Actually I would say it is better on visibility in sunshine than the old unit with the mat screen. (Now it may be the rake of the windscreen, or may be autumn sun, but so far so good as far as I am concerned)

I love the mount, no more sliding or fiddling around to get a fix. Straight on click ! And of course off again. The connector is held in to the unit magnetically and again fits quickly and securely. I donít understand why Tom Tom have not stuck with a USB, Mini USB combination, utilising their own connector on the unit end (does mean taking the cable with you to charge at home) but may be they have future technical reasons for this.

Live services and traffic have worked well, but as this is my first unit with this facility I canít compare the response with other units. However it seems pretty quick to load etc.

I donít think the route planning is particularly quicker than my last unit, but it is perfectly OK. GPS signals do however seem quicker to get a fix.

I know some will hate the lack of User POIís, inability to see the unitís content on the PC and the lack of Itinerary Planning. My Tom Tom has a long way to go to get to the Home level of functionality. But on the whole if you want a good looking unit which is intuitive in its menu structure with far less clutter and does what it says on the box i.e. gets you from A-B avoiding traffic problems give it a go.
Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Trevor1234
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Apr 30, 2005
Posts: 810
Location: Milton Keynes

PostPosted: Wed Oct 13, 2010 2:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi mow
Thanks for an interesting report.
However, as Tomtom have abandoned custom POI and the Itinerary function I will stay with my 720. When ever Tomtom add something new they also delete other functions that we users use frequently. Why this should be baffles me.
_________________
Tomtom Go 720.
Navcore 9.510
Central and Western Europe v855.2884
GPS World Traffic cameras
Home 2.7
iPhone 3G
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Andy_P
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jun 04, 2005
Posts: 19991
Location: West and Southwest London

PostPosted: Wed Oct 13, 2010 2:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Trevor1234 wrote:
When ever Tomtom add something new they also delete other functions that we users use frequently.


Except in this case, (apart from tarting up the menu a bit), they haven't added anything new... Crying or Very sad
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dhn
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Oct 08, 2007
Posts: 2543
Location: Toronto CANADA

PostPosted: Wed Oct 13, 2010 3:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, they have (finally) added one thing, Andy..........

"You have reached your destination on the left side (or right side)"

[not for pois though]
_________________
David
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MaFt
Pocket GPS Staff
Pocket GPS Staff


Joined: Aug 31, 2005
Posts: 14797
Location: Bradford, West Yorkshire

PostPosted: Wed Oct 13, 2010 3:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

dhn wrote:
[not for pois though]


that's because when you arrive at one of the built in POIs the actual place you are wanting is not on your left or your right, but on the other side of the housing estate :D

MaFt
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Andy_P
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jun 04, 2005
Posts: 19991
Location: West and Southwest London

PostPosted: Wed Oct 13, 2010 4:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Laughing Very good..... Smile

dhn wrote:
Well, they have (finally) added one thing, Andy..........

"You have reached your destination on the left side (or right side)"

[not for pois though]


But I already get that on my 940 and 950, AND on those models the red route 'stripe' ends with an arrow pointing to the correct side of the road too.

They broke that on the new 1000 and now the destination icon just appears in the middle of the road. Sad
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mow
Regular Visitor


Joined: Mar 09, 2005
Posts: 112
Location: Essex

PostPosted: Wed Oct 13, 2010 5:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
Except in this case, (apart from tarting up the menu a bit), they haven't added anything new...


They havenít added anything new it appears (although my 720 didnít automatically update time but I guess it did on later models)
Itís just an updated design with a better de-cluttered, intuitive menu system. As an example to clear a route is now two taps as opposed to four. Screen clarity is much better that previous versions and thatís a big plus. To me the new mount takes out a load of frustration, Iíve spent ages trying to locate my 720 in the socket !
I would guess (hope) the platform is ready for future developments.
If you are happy with your existing unit stick with it, but if you are in for your first GPS this new design with HD traffic will appeal to many.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
andy-c1
Lifetime Member


Joined: Feb 05, 2005
Posts: 1039
Location: East Sussex

PostPosted: Wed Oct 13, 2010 11:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

thanks for the report
just reminds me not to buy 1 yet as it seems to be still in the trial stages ...
Our company has done the exact same thing and is alienating some of our best customers Crying or Very sad Crying or Very sad
Looks like I will have to do the usual and skip a generation or at least till next apr/may when my free traffic runs out
_________________
TomTom 5001
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
mjdj1689
Regular Visitor


Joined: Mar 03, 2006
Posts: 132

PostPosted: Thu Oct 14, 2010 1:01 am    Post subject: GO 1000 additional mount kit Reply with quote

Does anyone know where I can get a GO 1000 additional mount kit please ? I just cant find one in stock anywhere ?

Im happy with my 1000 for the time being, but its an older map being the 850 ones, and you cant even update that yet, just one thing remember we have the map guarantee, and keep your receipt as if you have your unit over 30 days the tomtom home 3 might say you are out of the 30 days for installing the newest maps.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mow
Regular Visitor


Joined: Mar 09, 2005
Posts: 112
Location: Essex

PostPosted: Thu Oct 14, 2010 7:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
Im happy with my 1000 for the time being, but its an older map being the 850 ones,


Having spoken to Tom Tom Support today, they tell me that all 1000 units have been despatched with the latest maps etc.

Do you know different ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Greenglide
Lifetime Member


Joined: Apr 04, 2006
Posts: 295
Location: South East Northumberland, UK

PostPosted: Thu Oct 14, 2010 9:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

mow wrote:

They havenít added anything new it appears (although my 720 didnít automatically update time but I guess it did on later models)


My 520 automatically adjusts the time but only after you set the time initially. My 540 is the same.
_________________
TomTom Go 540 - V9.058, Map GB & Ireland 860.3101
TomTom Go 520T, V8.351, TTS V7, Map GB & Ireland 855.2884
Nokia 5800 with Google Maps & OVI Maps
Google Nexus One with Google Maps & NDrive
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Andy_P
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jun 04, 2005
Posts: 19991
Location: West and Southwest London

PostPosted: Thu Oct 14, 2010 10:40 am    Post subject: Re: GO 1000 additional mount kit Reply with quote

mjdj1689 wrote:
Does anyone know where I can get a GO 1000 additional mount kit please ? I just cant find one in stock anywhere ?


As TT don't have them in stock yet on their own website, I would guess they haven't actually delivered any to resellers (or even produced any yet)....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jammy31
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Oct 14, 2010
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Thu Oct 14, 2010 11:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Good review Mow. Did the unit work straight out of the box without connecting to a PC or doing any registration? Eg the HD Traffic.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mow
Regular Visitor


Joined: Mar 09, 2005
Posts: 112
Location: Essex

PostPosted: Thu Oct 14, 2010 3:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
Did the unit work straight out of the box without connecting to a PC or doing any registration? Eg the HD Traffic


Yes, well I think so !

Settings - My Tom Tom Account - then you get asked if you have a My Tom Tom Account - if yes - you log on using the unit - it then connects - and the message back reads "Your user name and password for Tom Tom PLUS are accepted. From then on all worked.

Now the reason I say think so, is that I had opened a My Tom Tom Account prior to receiving the unit. I also had to change my current 720 associated with this account to the new 1000 via a Support call.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jammy31
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Oct 14, 2010
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Thu Oct 14, 2010 3:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mow wrote:
Quote:
Did the unit work straight out of the box without connecting to a PC or doing any registration? Eg the HD Traffic


Yes, well I think so !

Settings - My Tom Tom Account - then you get asked if you have a My Tom Tom Account - if yes - you log on using the unit - it then connects - and the message back reads "Your user name and password for Tom Tom PLUS are accepted. From then on all worked.

Now the reason I say think so, is that I had opened a My Tom Tom Account prior to receiving the unit. I also had to change my current 720 associated with this account to the new 1000 via a Support call.


Good idea, I've just created a new 'My TomTom Account'. So hopefully I should just be able to turn on and drive. I'm picking the unit up en-route from Aldershot to Sheffield and want the traffic to work, what with it being a Friday.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> TomTom Portable Navigation Devices All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
Page 1 of 5

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Powered by phpBB 2.0.11 © 2001 phpBB Group
phpBB port v2.1 based on Tom Nitzschner's phpbb2.0.6 upgraded to phpBB 2.0.4 standalone was developed and tested by:
ArtificialIntel, ChatServ, mikem,
sixonetonoffun and Paul Laudanski (aka Zhen-Xjell).

Version 2.1 by Nuke Cops © 2003 http://www.nukecops.com

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
20.065 (29 Jun 22)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







© Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping