Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - Map udates - are they worth it ..?
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

Map udates - are they worth it ..?
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> TomTom Portable Navigation Devices
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
dhn
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Oct 08, 2007
Posts: 2544
Location: Toronto CANADA

PostPosted: Thu Mar 18, 2010 12:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Darren wrote:
I can't see any map version info on the Routes web-site so I'd be wary of assuming it uses the latest data?


I have been told (for NA, anyway) that route planner is one version behind actual. If that is the case, I presume it's at 840 for NA now.
_________________
David
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
joaocb40
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Oct 11, 2007
Posts: 1
Location: Portugal

PostPosted: Fri Mar 19, 2010 10:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Darren wrote:
I can't see any map version info on the Routes web-site so I'd be wary of assuming it uses the latest data?

No, it is not the latest map.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Andy_P
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jun 04, 2005
Posts: 19991
Location: West and Southwest London

PostPosted: Fri Mar 19, 2010 8:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

AFAIK, the Routes web-site is currently on v840 for the UK and Europe too.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
falkirk81
Pocket GPS Verifier
Pocket GPS Verifier


Joined: Jul 07, 2006
Posts: 1649
Location: Newcastle, England, UK

PostPosted: Fri Mar 19, 2010 8:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Andy_P wrote:
AFAIK, the Routes web-site is currently on v840 for the UK and Europe too.


Andy is correct. All you need to do is look at the Northbound carriageway of the Forth Road bridge in Edinburgh. It should NOT be a toll road, and up till and including v8.40 maps, it has been marked as a toll road.

v8.45 map data now has this correct.

So when you see the toll charge part of that bridge removed, then it will be the latest map data Smile

Same principal applies to the Tay bridge in Dundee, the SB carriageway should NOT be a toll road. v8.45 map data has this correct too!

Steven
_________________
Tomtom GO 1005 LIVE

iPhone 12
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DennisN
Tired Old Man
Tired Old Man


Joined: Feb 27, 2006
Posts: 14886
Location: Keynsham

PostPosted: Fri Mar 19, 2010 8:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Shows what a gullible old man I am - if TomTom offer me something, I'll believe it. Joker
_________________
Dennis

If it tastes good - it's fattening.

Two of them are obesiting!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tonygold
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Jul 14, 2006
Posts: 417

PostPosted: Thu Mar 25, 2010 9:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

mikealder wrote:
jimbo_hippo wrote:
My postcodes are missing. Not so much a map update issue, it was left from a recent wipe but after 6 years of Brits complaining about this it's still not fixed.

If you click Here you will download the latest PostCode data for your device, just unzip the download to the device - Mike


hi
what folder do you paste this info into please, is it the same folder as the pgpsw speed cams are in? also would this info be more up to date than the info on my 1 year old tomtom one IQ routes has built in? and if so will it simply overwrite the older data.
many thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Robin2
Lifetime Member


Joined: Nov 24, 2003
Posts: 1441
Location: Swansea

PostPosted: Thu Mar 25, 2010 9:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

No, you don't go into the map folder. In the root of your device you should see a folder called Zip. This should contain 4 files, 2 for UK and 2 for Netherlands. You just unzip the new postcode files into this folder - it should overwrite the old ones (you will be asked first). Don't forget to back up the old Zip folder onto your desktop first, in case the new one is corrupted for some reason
Robin
_________________
TomTom One v3 Europe, Navcore 7.903, Western Europe 835.2420
TomTom Go 720 Europe, Navcore 8.351, Western Europe 855.2884
Satmap Active 10
Plus a lot of other PDA GPS kit, seldom used
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tonygold
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Jul 14, 2006
Posts: 417

PostPosted: Thu Mar 25, 2010 9:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Robin2 wrote:
No, you don't go into the map folder. In the root of your device you should see a folder called Zip. This should contain 4 files, 2 for UK and 2 for Netherlands. You just unzip the new postcode files into this folder - it should overwrite the old ones (you will be asked first). Don't forget to back up the old Zip folder onto your desktop first, in case the new one is corrupted for some reason
Robin

thanks robin.
i will do that now. would this new zip file be more up to date than a year old one in your ooinion?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Robin2
Lifetime Member


Joined: Nov 24, 2003
Posts: 1441
Location: Swansea

PostPosted: Thu Mar 25, 2010 11:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's the very latest, 845. I just checked my own device, which I updated fairly recently, and that's 801, so I'm going to update mine, too Smile
Robin
_________________
TomTom One v3 Europe, Navcore 7.903, Western Europe 835.2420
TomTom Go 720 Europe, Navcore 8.351, Western Europe 855.2884
Satmap Active 10
Plus a lot of other PDA GPS kit, seldom used
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DennisN
Tired Old Man
Tired Old Man


Joined: Feb 27, 2006
Posts: 14886
Location: Keynsham

PostPosted: Thu Mar 25, 2010 8:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

In the zip folder, double click the Great_BritainPostal.ver and open it with Notepad - it'll say the version number.
_________________
Dennis

If it tastes good - it's fattening.

Two of them are obesiting!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tonygold
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Jul 14, 2006
Posts: 417

PostPosted: Fri Mar 26, 2010 8:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

DennisN wrote:
In the zip folder, double click the Great_BritainPostal.ver and open it with Notepad - it'll say the version number.

thanks for info dennis
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> TomTom Portable Navigation Devices All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4
Page 4 of 4

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
21.121 (06 Dec 23)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping