Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - 730t re-boots at same point on M42 !!
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

730t re-boots at same point on M42 !!

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> TomTom Portable Navigation Devices
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
richrab
Lifetime Member


Joined: Dec 23, 2006
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Wed Sep 30, 2009 10:02 pm    Post subject: 730t re-boots at same point on M42 !! Reply with quote

Now this is strange, my 730T(8.302) will reboot when ever I drive off the M1 on to the A(M)42.

I regularly drive from Bristol to Washington Tyne & Wear. On my return journey, planed by selecting 'Home', I drive down the M1 on to the A(M)42.
At the same point every journey the 730 will re-boot just as i drive off the M1 on to the dual carriage way of the A(M)42

I have checked for POI's at this location (52.81656,-1.30535) and I do not have any, neither any favorites.

This has happed at least 5 times.

Any thoughts ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Andy_P
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jun 04, 2005
Posts: 19991
Location: West and Southwest London

PostPosted: Thu Oct 01, 2009 2:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Does it also do it if you play a demo of the route over the same section of roads?

If it does, we can see if our units do it too.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
richrab
Lifetime Member


Joined: Dec 23, 2006
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Thu Oct 01, 2009 7:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am unable to play the whole route on demo as it seems to restart after 100 miles.
I did recreate the issue by planning a route from J24 M1 to 2 miles down the A(M)42.
During the demo the unit froze then rebooted just as the voice said 'in 800 yards turn left junction 23'
I am driving along this route tomorrow so will clear the route well before the junction to see what happens.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PaulB2005
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jan 04, 2006
Posts: 9323
Location: Durham, UK

PostPosted: Thu Oct 01, 2009 9:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What map do you have?

Is this a new problem or has it just started happening?

I've demoed the route on my 740 with no problems....

800 yards - isn't that just as Reality View kicks in? Do you have Reality View? If so, what if you disable it and run the demo?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
GerryC
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Mar 01, 2005
Posts: 1513
Location: West Mids

PostPosted: Thu Oct 01, 2009 9:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just tried it on my 730 and it went fine from the M1 to A42. I'm using the Western&Central Europe v835 map and application ver 8.351. What map are you using as it could be map specific?

Just out of interest, how did you get it to say "junction 23" in the instructions? Just confusing because A42 is J23a - J23 is the A512.

Also, the location you gave is after the turn but the instruction will be givven long before that! Confused

By the way, it's the A42. The M42 starts later down the road. There's no such thing as a A(M)42!
_________________
Gerry
TomTom730T
Cameralert for Android
Brodit ProClip mount
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
DennisN
Tired Old Man
Tired Old Man


Joined: Feb 27, 2006
Posts: 14874
Location: Keynsham

PostPosted: Thu Oct 01, 2009 10:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Remember, it says "23uh", not "23 AY", so the "uh" is easily overlooked.

I've driven this junction myself many times and never had anything like that. I'd agree the idea of it being caused by Reality View (and/or ALG) is a good suspect.

Just clarify how consistent it is - you said "every journey", then "at least five times". Have there been some journeys when it hasn't happened - I'm wondering if it has happened, then not, then happened again, or is it every one of the last five times you've travelled the route?
_________________
Dennis

If it tastes good - it's fattening.

Two of them are obesiting!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MrT
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Nov 14, 2003
Posts: 2143
Location: Surrounded by A1, M1 & M25

PostPosted: Fri Oct 02, 2009 9:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I had a similar issue when I had TT Navigator on the PDA where it crashed at the same point on the A11 and this turned out to be due to a corruption of the map file on the SD card. Formatting the card and reinstalling the map cleared it. Your map file may have a corruption on the internal memory
_________________
Drivelux
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
richrab
Lifetime Member


Joined: Dec 23, 2006
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Mon Oct 05, 2009 8:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well on Fridays drive home i cleared the route about 2 miles from the junction, all went fine and no re boot. So it's only when a route is being navigated.

Dennis N - sometimes i use A1/M1/M42/M5 this has been more recent as I was using A1/A66/M6/M5 but it seems the M6 is now as chaotic as the M1.
5 times was trying to sound more precise than just saying every time. Every time i have planned a route back and traveled this way it has rebooted.

GerryC - The point of reboot is on the sweeping right hand bend just going down hill on to the A42. Map is Western & Central Europe 2GB v800.1762.


I will try reinstalling the map on the back up made when the unit was new, 15 months ago, if i can find it.


Thanks for all suggestions.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> TomTom Portable Navigation Devices All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Powered by phpBB 2.0.11 © 2001 phpBB Group
phpBB port v2.1 based on Tom Nitzschner's phpbb2.0.6 upgraded to phpBB 2.0.4 standalone was developed and tested by:
ArtificialIntel, ChatServ, mikem,
sixonetonoffun and Paul Laudanski (aka Zhen-Xjell).

Version 2.1 by Nuke Cops 2003 http://www.nukecops.com

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
20.114 (23 Nov 22)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping