Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - REVIEW:TomTom Bluetooth Remote Control - worth the money?
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

REVIEW:TomTom Bluetooth Remote Control - worth the money?
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> TomTom Portable Navigation Devices
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
dsouter
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jul 21, 2006
Posts: 43
Location: Lockerbie

PostPosted: Mon Jun 30, 2008 7:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I find the remote very useful when travelling. Simple to operate while still keeping eyes on the road. Safer than stretching any day.Duncan
_________________
never mind eh!!!

go 1005
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
HummerUK
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Apr 21, 2007
Posts: 332
Location: East Sussex

PostPosted: Sun Jul 06, 2008 4:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

After a reset of my 520 I can no longer get my BT remote to pair Sad

HummerUK
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mikealder
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jan 14, 2005
Posts: 19638
Location: Blackpool , Lancs

PostPosted: Sun Jul 06, 2008 4:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Make sure the Blue LED illuminates on the remote and it might be an idea to put new batteries in (good luck with opening it), make sure Bluetooth is enabled on the TomTom and press a button for a few seconds, it will take a while for the unit to see the device but it should still work folloing a reset - Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
HummerUK
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Apr 21, 2007
Posts: 332
Location: East Sussex

PostPosted: Sun Jul 06, 2008 5:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

After a press of the reset button on the base of my 520, waiting a bit, power on and then tried a button on the remote it came up with the message to pair device.

Perhaps it only looks for new ones after a cold boot of the TT operating system?

Many thanks for the tips

HummerUK
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MadBaz
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jun 23, 2006
Posts: 13
Location: Kent

PostPosted: Wed Jul 23, 2008 1:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I keep the remote for my Go910 in my car door pocket and find it very useful for adjusting the volume.

I've never bothered working out what the other buttons do.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DennisN
Tired Old Man
Tired Old Man


Joined: Feb 27, 2006
Posts: 14881
Location: Keynsham

PostPosted: Wed Jul 23, 2008 9:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

MadBaz wrote:
I keep the remote for my Go910 in my car door pocket and find it very useful for adjusting the volume.

I've never bothered working out what the other buttons do.

You DID say the 910 - that's a wireless remote, whereas the one here is Bluetooth.

No matter. It's pretty damn good, give it a try. The centre button is the equivalent of a tap on the screen, the up, down, left right presses move the selection accordingly, the bottom right nodule would bring up the Details menu, bottom left would then select the Details view, bottom right would be Done, bottom centre is for the occasions when there's a bottom centre button to press. The centre button is "OK", or "Enter" when you're doing something with it. You can operate the 910 completely without tapping the screen, which is pretty handy if it's a long arm's length away, or if you sometimes hit the wrong icon with a wobbly finger. I used mine all the time when I had a GO700 and wouldn't be without it.

You really are missing a trick if you don't give it a try.
_________________
Dennis

If it tastes good - it's fattening.

Two of them are obesiting!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mikealder
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jan 14, 2005
Posts: 19638
Location: Blackpool , Lancs

PostPosted: Wed Jul 23, 2008 10:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

To be honest I find the old RF remote from the x10 range a better device, it is more responsive in use - you can also use it to "play" with adjacent cars navs units when stuck in traffic (not that I would ever do such a thing).
The BT remote takes much longer to sync to the device, and once locked to a unit it can only control the single device - Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
DennisN
Tired Old Man
Tired Old Man


Joined: Feb 27, 2006
Posts: 14881
Location: Keynsham

PostPosted: Wed Jul 23, 2008 10:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

There you go. Mike's dislikes are my favourites - I couldn't use the RF remote when I had more than one device in the van, whereas the new one will only affect the device I've linked it to. I never did manage to play with anybody else's (and I did try, you west of the pennines hypocrite!!). The one better feature with the RF remote was map scrolling - that is a VERY sad loss on the Bluetooth one. And, unlike Mike, I find the BT one more responsive and reliable at sending instructions.

Just goes to show, you'll probably always get two sides (at least) with every recommendation!!
_________________
Dennis

If it tastes good - it's fattening.

Two of them are obesiting!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PaulBt
Lifetime Member


Joined: Sep 22, 2006
Posts: 188
Location: Kempsford, UK

PostPosted: Wed Jul 23, 2008 11:09 pm    Post subject: How long are your batteries lasting? Reply with quote

I am on my third set of batteries, and have only used the device on an actual trip once. As every other time I've gone to use it, it has not responded, and when I changed the batteries it works again.

I like the unit and particularly like the one press to pause the audio, but have only been able to testing at home as it has always been flat in the car.

Is it trying to connect the a bluetooth device or is it getting pressed all the time in the car? I have tried to place it where it should not be getting press all the time.

Any ideas?
_________________
TT720 V8.010, regular audio book user.
WestEuro v805 connected to E90 on O2
TT910 V6.525, TTN5, TTN3, TT on Psion 5mx
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
benjamino
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Mar 24, 2007
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Thu Jan 29, 2009 12:27 pm    Post subject: Accessing the quick menu Reply with quote

Just to say you can also use the remote to access the Quick Menu if you have it enabled and set up. Just hold down the central of the 3 raised buttons. (pressing it normally plays or pauses the music) - Must say I'm relieved to discover this as wasn't expecting it be possible after reading the review Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MrT
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Nov 14, 2003
Posts: 2143
Location: Surrounded by A1, M1 & M25

PostPosted: Thu Jan 29, 2009 12:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you hold down the central push button in the "joypad" in the x40 range it activates the voice command.
_________________
Drivelux
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Belgarath
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jul 22, 2006
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Fri Jan 30, 2009 3:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Can the bluetooth remote be set up (with a 940) so that it can forward to the next music track with one press (without going through the menus).

Chrs.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mikealder
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jan 14, 2005
Posts: 19638
Location: Blackpool , Lancs

PostPosted: Fri Jan 30, 2009 4:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Belgarath wrote:
Can the bluetooth remote be set up (with a 940) so that it can forward to the next music track with one press (without going through the menus).
Yes it does this as supplied there is no setting up required - Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
benjamino
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Mar 24, 2007
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Fri Jan 30, 2009 4:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah the remote has dedicated buttons for next track and previous track when in the main map mode. Works on the 530 anyway but think it is a standard feature.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Belgarath
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jul 22, 2006
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Fri Jan 30, 2009 6:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Excellent. Thanks.

Does the remote come with a mount/holder like the 910 did? I noticed on a advert for the garmin they had something similar that fitted actually on the wheel that you could press with your thumb without your hands leaving the wheel. A solution like that would be neat.

What are people's preferred MO for using the remote? Do you have it mounted on the dash somewhere near the steering wheel, or on the seat next to them or some cubbyhole nearby?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> TomTom Portable Navigation Devices All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
Page 4 of 5

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
21.035 (29 Mar 23)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping