Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - PPC – But no navigation software
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

PPC – But no navigation software

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> HGV / Motorhome Lounge
View previous topic :: View next topic  
gangalee
Occasional Visitor

PostPosted: Fri Aug 11, 2006 9:42 pm    Post subject: PPC – But no navigation software Reply with quote

I am a Class 1 Container driver and I use a laptop based system at work for navigation. I bought an HP 2190 PPC and at present I have no navigation software for it. I bought it with the aim of eventually replacing my laptop system, but none of the current crop of PPC navigation software reaches the professional standard I require.

The ideal software would meet the following specifications:

1. Import speed camera data, & see graphical representation of them on the map.

2. Import other custom poi’s i.e. low bridges, truck stops, ect & see graphical representation of them on the map.

3. All Poi's to be alerted with wav files or equivalent. (Custom sound for each section)

4. Adjustable/Customisable route generation to prefer certain types of road.

5. Block roads/area feature (that stays blocked until you unblock it)

6. Multiple waypoints feature (chosen by point clicking on the map)

7. Preview route feature (so you can check the route before you travel)

8. 7 digit post code search, search by road name, area,

9. Ability to switch re-routing off if not required.

10. Avoid poi feature (ability to avoid selectable poi on-route i.e. low bridges ect)

At present most software can do SOME, but NONE can do ALL of the features above, In fact the closest is Tom-Tom 5.1 but points 6, 8, 9 & 3 to a certain extent are an issue in my opinion.