Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
Read the current newsletter! Weekly
Newsletter
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
MacFixer, the iPhone, iPod, and iPad specialists
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - Navman 510 on a bike
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

Navman 510 on a bike

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Motorcycle GPS Users
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
FXRStuarty
Regular Visitor


Joined: Dec 23, 2005
Posts: 91

PostPosted: Wed Jan 11, 2006 9:32 pm    Post subject: Navman 510 on a bike Reply with quote

Been thinking about how to make this a good idea!

I am thinking I will buy a Peli or Otter box with a clear lid. I will be unable to open the antenna so I think an external antenna could be used drilling the box from the bottom, allowing the cable in that way. I will fit a rubber grommet to keep the water out.

What diameter is the ball in the Navman standard car mount, is it 1 inch?

Will welcome any input to this please. Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SOELEY
Regular Visitor


Joined: Nov 11, 2005
Posts: 65

PostPosted: Sun Jan 15, 2006 7:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No it's smaller than that, about the size of a marble.
_________________
Garmin Nuvi 765T
Toyota iQ3
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MikeOnABike
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Dec 07, 2005
Posts: 32

PostPosted: Thu Feb 09, 2006 9:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Get clear plastic bags or an Aquapac if style conscious. ;)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
FXRStuarty
Regular Visitor


Joined: Dec 23, 2005
Posts: 91

PostPosted: Fri Mar 31, 2006 6:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I now have a mount suitable for the Navman and fitting it to my bike is easy. As for keeping the water out I guess a freezer bag will do it.

Next thing is, will my Navman 510 work with my Autocom Pro? Had thought of using the phone or music socket on the autocom unit.

Does anyone have experience of using Navman with Autocom? Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jelster
Regular Visitor


Joined: Nov 22, 2004
Posts: 62
Location: West London - on me 'Blade

PostPosted: Fri Mar 31, 2006 7:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I use my 510 with the Autocom regularly. Just connected it to the "music" socket on the main unit, works well, although the Navman is usually in the top of my tank bag or even in my jacket pocket...

Like to see what you have done in the way of mounting it... I've found a cradle see here but just have to sort out the RAM mount.

.
_________________
Completely lost in the world of GPS
Garmin Nuvi 760
ICN510 & Autocom - CBR900 RR3
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
FXRStuarty
Regular Visitor


Joined: Dec 23, 2005
Posts: 91

PostPosted: Tue Apr 04, 2006 12:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jelster wrote:
I use my 510 with the Autocom regularly. Just connected it to the "music" socket on the main unit, works well, although the Navman is usually in the top of my tank bag or even in my jacket pocket...

Like to see what you have done in the way of mounting it... I've found a cradle see here but just have to sort out the RAM mount.

.


The mount was made by Mr Gonzales from this site. I can attach the standard Navman510 car mount cradle to it and have it sitting on my bars.

The waterproof bit is the tester! As I said before, a freezer bag seems to be the option. Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jelster
Regular Visitor


Joined: Nov 22, 2004
Posts: 62
Location: West London - on me 'Blade

PostPosted: Sun Apr 09, 2006 11:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

FXRStuarty wrote:
Jelster wrote:
I use my 510 with the Autocom regularly. Just connected it to the "music" socket on the main unit, works well, although the Navman is usually in the top of my tank bag or even in my jacket pocket...

Like to see what you have done in the way of mounting it... I've found a cradle see here but just have to sort out the RAM mount.

.


The mount was made by Mr Gonzales from this site. I can attach the standard Navman510 car mount cradle to it and have it sitting on my bars.

The waterproof bit is the tester! As I said before, a freezer bag seems to be the option. Smile


That or a condom (no, I'm serious....)

.
_________________
Completely lost in the world of GPS
Garmin Nuvi 760
ICN510 & Autocom - CBR900 RR3
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Motorcycle GPS Users All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Powered by phpBB 2.0.11 © 2001 phpBB Group
phpBB port v2.1 based on Tom Nitzschner's phpbb2.0.6 upgraded to phpBB 2.0.4 standalone was developed and tested by:
ArtificialIntel, ChatServ, mikem,
sixonetonoffun and Paul Laudanski (aka Zhen-Xjell).

Version 2.1 by Nuke Cops 2003 http://www.nukecops.com

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
20.094 (28 Sep 22)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping