Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - Old (v6xx) Maps on x20/x30 devices?
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

Old (v6xx) Maps on x20/x30 devices?

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> TomTom Portable Navigation Devices
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Toneloc427
Regular Visitor


Joined: Feb 01, 2007
Posts: 143
Location: New England, USA

PostPosted: Fri Nov 21, 2008 10:10 pm    Post subject: Old (v6xx) Maps on x20/x30 devices? Reply with quote

TomTom changed their licensing system drastically between the v675 maps (product code activated via internet) and the v705 maps (.dct license file).

I have an old EU map from a broken 910 that I'd like to load on an SD card and run on a 720. Anyone know if this will work? I don't want to waste the code if the new application version won't allow you to activate an old map.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Andy_P
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jun 04, 2005
Posts: 19991
Location: West and Southwest London

PostPosted: Sat Nov 22, 2008 1:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

IIRC, the old way did let you change map/device pairings every six months, but I could be remembering wrong...

No harm in trying though. You know to go to www.ttcode.com - it's still there.

I know old maps will work on new devices.. only yesterday I put the original SD card from my Go300 (UK map v562.0) in the slot of my Go720 runnng v8.300 - it worked fine (smoother than a new map actually!), but those are pre-activated.

But I wonder why you want to do this? surely your Go720 came with newer Western Europe maps anyway?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Toneloc427
Regular Visitor


Joined: Feb 01, 2007
Posts: 143
Location: New England, USA

PostPosted: Sat Nov 22, 2008 2:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nope, it only came with maps of the US Very Happy

A friend wants to borrow it for a trip to Italy, but I don't feel like shelling out the cash to buy new maps just for him. I've got an old 700 that I could load it on as well, which is why I want to make sure I can do it on the 720 without wasting the code.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Andy_P
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jun 04, 2005
Posts: 19991
Location: West and Southwest London

PostPosted: Sat Nov 22, 2008 3:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Der!!! Embarassed I should have looked at your location shouldn't I?!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Toneloc427
Regular Visitor


Joined: Feb 01, 2007
Posts: 143
Location: New England, USA

PostPosted: Sat Nov 22, 2008 5:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

No worries, Andy. You're allowed a mistake once in a while - you've helped me a ton in the past, so I'll let this one slide. Razz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> TomTom Portable Navigation Devices All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
21.021 (01 Feb 23)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping